First day down!

Day one is done! And a crazy day it was.  I started out in the pouring rain and ended in even colder pouring rain.  I always thought that if you can get yourself out there when the elements are at their worst than the sunny days will feel so much easier.  Hoping I have a chance to test that logic with some sun soon.

I started out in Cagnes sur Mer , ran along the sea to Antibes and then Cannes, where they’re having the film festival, this weekend!  My route took me directly through the thick of it and I must’ve looked like a madwoman soaked in my rain gear amid all the sophisticated cool filmmakers and press people.  Those are the kinda moments you gotta live for :-) 

I finished the run past Cannes headed up into some small mountains.  My garmin was dead and the charger was in my luggage so I am actually not sure how far I ran.  I also got lost in the Centre Villes  of each town I ran through…still learning to navigate French town centers.

I’m really looking forward to tomorrow as I’m curious to see where the road is going.  I’ve spent time in Nice, Antibes, and Cannes before, so it felt like I was just finally getting into new territory towards the end of the run today and on top of that it was so foggy and rainy that I really couldn’t see much around me.

Best news of all is that we have our luggage!!! I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy to be reunited with material objects , but everything in our bags reflected months of careful planning and preparation… Alex with his camera gear and Kick starter funded gear and I with products from sponsors who I very patiently persuaded to believe in me, and the official run T-shirt, and all that good stuff.  Happy it is here and we can go forward with the right supplies! Thank you to Health Warrior, Fuse Science, and Pro-Tec for having my back :-)

And thanks to our friends Brian and Kelly for the wise words below. 

image

6 Responses to “First day down!”

  1. As busy as I am getting everything done for the end of school and preparing for my own adventure, I can’t help but stop everything I’m doing and read the blog. Hooked again and happy be connected w you. Xoxox

  2. Midlo Trails Says:

    I agree completely..we will be reading your blog as often as you can post it.

  3. First day down!!! Ahhh this is actually happening. Sending sun your way. Have you heard the song, mr golden sun? I sing it with the kiddos and it never fails. Sending love to you and Alex. So pumped for this blog and I love the quote you shared. Be safe out there.
    Gabe and Margaret too!

  4. I am so excited to read this blog. I love you and Alex tons. Sing mr. Golden sun to bring out the sun. Remember the day we did a sun dance together in the driveway? Run z run! You are amazing.

  5. Zoe Romano you seem to be the craziest and most cool woman in a field where a degree of lunacy seems to be almost pre-requisite, i used to read about these guys competing in the tour on cycles and used to be in awe of them.. and you want to run the distance and reach one day before them!!! your cause is noble and your resolve strong.. Go in strength and peach my unknown friend.. i love you

  6. rhythm all the way Zoe … rhythm and balance will get you there! (electrolytes are key!!!) steady as she goes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,649 other followers

