Done the Pyrenees

I finished the Pyrenees!  It’s actually a weird feeling, sad almost, to know that sometime I prepared for and feared and looked forward to for so long is now done with.

I am particularly frustrated at the moment because I just wrote out a nice long reflective blog post and my laptop died in the middle without saving it…sometimes technology and I don’t get along.  One thing that has really struck me about this run is that it is just so much more athletic and so much more demanding than my run across the US.  I have to be honest and say that that fact carries over into blogging and to what extent I’m able to write about all that is going on….most nights it’s all I can do just to go through my stretching and massage routine.  So in case anyone has been wondering where all the blog posts have been, the answer is, they’ve been sacrificed now and then to make time for stretching and by the time I am through with that my body and mind are completely shutting down.

Long story short, I will rewrite the longer blog post that just got deleted, but unfortunately not tonight.  There is so much that went on in the last 8 days that I just can’t get it all down in a quick rewrite right now!  In a jumbled paragraph, the highlights were running with legendary Brit runner John Boyes :  ),  staying with Mat and his Mom in beautiful Loudenvielle, climbing 7 mountain passes and my hips keeping me up at night, nearly killing Alex and his camera on day 7 at the summit, dinner at John’s retreat, conversation round the fire at Mat’s, being more tired and spent than I’ve ever been in my life, being amazed each morning that my legs were still attached, running next to a ten foot wall of snow, running through gorges, Graham and Sandra’s bike bed and breakfast in Axat, discovering “How I met Your Mother” in French, eating so many Haribo gummies, running through herds of horned cows on mountain roads and being terrified until cyclists assured me I had nothing to be afraid of, seeing herds of sheep being led through villages, running in the midst of cycle Sportifs, misted mountaintops, unrelenting climbs, pounding descents, seeing Tour markings on the roads, the feeling of that black and white sign marking the Col at the top of the mountain pass and knowing I got one more to cross off the list, and finally, falling into a deep sleep every night.

Bonne nuit!

5 Responses to “Done the Pyrenees”

  1. Zoe:

    Are you running the whole route – all 3,360 KMs?

    I can’t seem to get the math to add up that you’ll be done the day before the tour ends in Paris?

    Thanks, and keep up the good awesome work!

    John Byrne

  2. You are inspiring all of us! Keep going for Team Zoe and @WorldPediatric

  3. mikeromano55@gmail.com Says:

    All I can say is WOW! Zoe, you’re amazing. Keep it going. Big Love – UM

  4. Keep up the fantastic work ( and writing)! I am an intermediate runner here in the Midwest living vicariously through you :)

  5. I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or
    understanding more. Thanks for wonderful information I
    was looking for this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,649 other followers

