Fundraising news and thunder storms!

Well, I can’t believe it.  I have one more day of normal running tomorrow, 32 miles to finish in Ajaccio, then I will take a day off, and then try and knock off the last stage, 90 miles, as one 24 hour ultra marathon.  Excited and nervous but mostly this all feels surreal.  Did all of it really just happen?

I just found out that a very special donor has stepped up to match all donations up to $7500 total through to the end of August.  We are just 15,000$ short of the $150k goal, so I say let’s make it happen in the next week!  Alex and I are scheming something very cool film-wise to thank last – minute donors – stay tuned for more info tomorrow!  And in the meantime if you wish to donate you can do so at WWW.zoegoesrunning.com.  Thank you!

And last but not least, the weather finally broke today!  It broke into dozens of mountain thunder storms!  I started off OK but had to jump in the car during a particularly violent patch, and we waited it out for a good 40 minutes.  I almost asked Alex if we could drive ahead and I would run the stage backwards, just so I could be out of the mountains for the storms, but he persuaded me to at least give it one more try.  Im very happy I did, because it turned out to be an incredible run with just a few more lightning bolts but nothing serious.  In the past I’ve had too many close calls with lightning to reasonably feel very comfortable running under it now, so I am glad I had Alex there to give me a confidence boost :-) 

4 Responses to “Fundraising news and thunder storms!”

  1. Your Absolute , No Doubt About It , #1 Fan says…This is it Z, run hard and strong and don’t for one minute doubt your strength and determination. It will get thru today and the final 90 mile / 24 hour RUN that awaits your heart and soul !

    These past two months or so have defined you in greater detail, placed you among the elite runners of the world and contributed to the good health of children in need. You’ve inspired a nation of followers, taken us to the top of the Alps, thru the villages of France, we enjoyed the lavender blossoms with you, jolted from wild boars and felt the sweat on our brows…if we removed our shoes we might even find blisters on our toes. Our hearts have raced and our breath shortened as we followed your journey in awe.

    Now come home to see us where we can reunite embraced in hugs of joy and love .

    Always and forever , Dad xoxox

  2. Big Daddy has left me in tears and captured my thoughts – exactly! Zoe, your are truly an inspiration. I’ve followed your every post from RVA and have to admit I’m going to be a little sad when it’s over. RUN HARD ZOE! Bring it home, we are all so proud of you.

  3. Way to go, Alex!!!!

    Oh yeah, you too Zoe! :)

    So proud of you both!!! xoxo

  4. 24 more hours till the finish line….wow. In my head, and like I sang in the courtyard before you left I hear in my head now, its the final countdown! Please be safe out there and listen to both your body and Alex. Hopefully you can hear our cheers because they are loud and we are very proud. I love you tons and enjoy those last few hours knowing you followed your heart, your dreams, and your passion. That’s what life is all about and your going to change many many children’s lives with this crazy run!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,647 other followers

