Most of the time, just getting out the door is the hardest part.

photo credit: alexander kreher

Okay, so I actually wrote this in my notebook last Friday, but I’m just getting it up here now.

I nearly talked myself out of running today. I ran 20 miles yesterday, and had done 20 miles 2 days earlier, with just one day of recovery. My training goals for this run are to get as much mileage in as possible, and reduce the time needed for recovery, but two 20 milers in 3 days is a new level for me. So, as I was saying, I nearly convinced myself that the day would be best spent as another recovery day. On top of that, when it got time to run, Richmond slapped me in the face with a crazy thunderstorm out of nowhere. On the news they said we had 8,000 lightning strikes in less than an hour. So I started to take that as a sign from the powers above, telling me I really ought to take it easy today.

I must have had a gap in the mind-body connection, however, because as I was talking myself out of running, my legs, with a mind of their own, were walking themselves right into my running shoes and out the door. I ended up having a fantastic run. I was light on my feet, the air had cooled down because of the storm, awesomely violent signs of the lightnings’ strength were everywhere, and I got to see a full rainbow. I got in 21 hill repeats, and a good-paced run down to Nickel Bridge to see the sun pouring out from behind the thunder clouds. Not bad at all. I find that nature always rewards me the most on days when my motivation is lacking.

Aside from that, things continue to move forward with the fundraiser. I received a very encouraging email from Shekinah Mitchell at the Boys and Girls Club of Metro Richmond, my friends are enthusiastic, my family is beyond supportive; life is good. I stopped by this weekend at the Richmond Road Runners store in Carytown to see if they had strollers, and to try to get some sage advice from the employees there. They were very helpful and gave me some exciting suggestions, which I will share as they develop ; )

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

2 thoughts on “Most of the time, just getting out the door is the hardest part.”

  1. Typically, I only run when someone is chasing me. Here’s hoping that no one will be chasing you (especially not over the Rockies)! Best of luck Zoe! You chose a great cause to run for.

    1. Well, I do try to always pretend the coppers are after me. Except on slow days, than I imagine it’s turtles chasing me. Thank you so much for all the interest you’ve shown in this project and for offering to help me out with the logistics side of things, and helping me connect with some good people. That really means a lot to me. I’ll see you Tuesday, I’ll bring in an energy zap for you : )

Leave a Reply

