A Post for the Running Nerds

This is one of my favorite quotes from a hero of mine, John Landy.  Landy was an Aussie track star back in the 1950’s,  and besides being way, way faster than most everyone in the world, (he was one of the first guys to break the 4 minute mile) he was so incredible because of his dedication to his absolutely ridiculous training schedule.  He makes my training look embarrassingly inadequate.  Some might say he was a bit obsessive, but I really like his perspective on how running is more than just something we do to stay in shape:

“Running gave me discipline and self-expression…It has all the disappointments, frustrations, lack of success and unexpected success, which all reproduce themselves in the bigger play of life.  It teaches you the ability to present under pressure.  It teaches you the importance of being enthusiastic, dedicated, focused.  All of these are trite statements, but if you actually have to go through these things as a young man, it’s very, very important”

If anyone’s interested, the quote is from a really good book I just read, The Perfect Mile. It’s about the 3 runners who worked their butts off to be the first ever to break the 4 minute mile back in the 1950’s. John Landy, Roger Bannister, and Wes Santee.  Very good stuff.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

2 thoughts on “A Post for the Running Nerds”

  1. I like that quote and I can only agree with it. But I would say you can generalize it a little bit more and say the same happens with all sports. But the important thing is that you DO sports!!! Even if the first step is a hard one, after you kicked your own a** then you will love yourself for that!
    I felt the same just yesterday, I went to Handball training again since a long time. I couldn’t go because of a surgery and it was hard to motivate myself to go again. But now I am addicted again! =)
    So, thanks for the quote Zoe!

  2. Hi Zoe, I just finished reading your jog blogs. I like your writings and thoughts and feel somehow touched. Although I started in the no column, I’ve now moved to the “words of encourgement”!! column. I truly admire your tenacity and spunk. You’re gonna do great. What an adventure. I can’t wait to meet up with you on the road and ride while you run. Yep, you’ve inspired me to ride! Of course I’ll have to fly first. Yep, you’ve inspired me to fly and ride. That’s good stuff. I’ll help you in anyway I can. Just let me know, Sparky? All for now, Sweet dreams and nite nite.

Leave a Reply

