Virginia is For Lovers — of Hot Weather.

photo credit: alexander kreher

It was not hot today. Not at all. Quite the contrary, actually.

I was beside myself with happiness on my run, I had to hold myself back a bit. I ran to the park, over the bridge, and through the woods to Belle Isle. I was hardly even thirsty. Maymont Park was having its 1st Jazz Fest, with some pretty big names and ticket prices to match. But the great thing about outdoor concerts is that you can stand 100 yards away from the stage, outside the entrance, and still hear the music loud and clear. Only you don’t have to buy a ticket. So that’s exactly what I did, stopping for a bit in neighboring Byrd Park, and enjoyed some tunes.

I continued running, rejoicing in the fact that I was finally getting a break from the heat. It must have been about 75, maybe 78. Or so I thought. I checked the weather when I got home. I couldn’t believe it – 89 degrees. Where I’m from, 89 is HOT. Very hot. And then it hit me – I’m not from where I’m from anymore. A summer down here has officially made me into a crazy Richmonder who thinks anything below 95 degrees is mild. It seems that those of us who stay here for the summer love the hot weather; it’s all we ever talk about.

I realized with mixed emotions that I could have had 3 months of wonderful summer running weather had I spent the summer back home in Maine. I’ve got to admit I felt nostalgic for a minute, even regretful. That soon passed, however, when I realized how much tougher and better-prepared I felt for having spent the summer training in temps consistently above 95.  But I have to say, after so many 105 degree training runs, today felt pretty damn refreshing. A jump in the pool after an evening in the hot tub.

Who knows, I may even sleep without my AC on tonight!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Virginia is For Lovers — of Hot Weather.”

  1. Hi Z ….OK here’s what’s going on with the Blog …tell everyone to set their Bookmark to your Home Page @ zoegoesrunning.wordpress.com …when they get to that site , they can see the various things you’ve written on the blog i.e. What kind of crazy nut , Virginia is for Lovers , etc. Also on that page they will see the sidebar as you have set it up . They can then click on a comment or reply and go to a different page to reply or comment , however on this page there is no sidebar , there are the trails of comments and replies . It took me a while to realize I had bookmarked the wrong page , so every time I opened your blog I was on a comment page . Now I have correctly bookmarked the home page and move about by clicking the tags on the home page .

    Hope that helps out !! Sending some big love and good vibes , Big Daddy the Jog Blog Dog

Leave a Reply

