I think I might be cheating….

Well. The Blog Honor Code Society may tell me I’m cheating with this post, but I’m going to go ahead and do it anyway. I received a very nice email from a good friend of mine this week. I haven’t been able to get it out of my head all week. One read-through and it was stuck. This friend of mine, Jeffrey Hains, has always been a writer, even if he doesn’t know it. I wanted to figure out a way to share it on the Blog, so I am just going to paste it all here. They are his words and his feelings, but they mirror perfectly my excitement and anticipation for this trip. It begins:

“I’ve been a scheming schemer.

What you are planning to do is so audacious I can’t help but laugh giddily every time I identify it in my head. Then I go back and read your plan for the 10th time and my schemer brain goes to work. I think about sitting in an airplane, looking down at the ant villages and highways and I think that you will be tracking your way across this vast country. Then I try to imagine four consecutive 20-mile days. I try to imagine even one 20-mile day, double what I’ve ever done in a stretch, which makes me sore and hungry all at the same time. Then I think about your style of expedition; essentially self-sustained a la push-stroller, camping most nights, trying to link together couches when you can and holding out for a hotel room maybe once a week. I think about my own bicycle journey. The difficulties; getting lost most every day, sourcing and storing enough food and water, finding a place to crash every night and unpacking and repacking, flat tires, bad weather, the New Jersey Turnpike System. I think about the rewards; exploring new and mind-bogglingly beautiful landscapes, the kindness of strangers, the self-confidence of eating miles and chasing hills, the total re-organization of reality around the daily experience of moving fast and well under your own power. This journey you are to embark on will force you to look at yourself and the world in ways that are hard to replicate “in the real world.” It is curious to imagine Zoe coming out on the other side with these new perspectives. I want to help you on your way.”

The guy is a writer, no? Thank you very much Mr. Hains : )

And P.S. new photos are up!! The one you see here was taken by my roommate, it is in the Japanese Gardens in Maymont Park. Anyone living in Richmond who hasn’t been there, get off your couch and go check it out!

photo credit: gabrielle pedraja

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

3 thoughts on “I think I might be cheating….”

  1. WOW… NOT SURE WHAT TO SAY ABOUT THIS. IT’S CRAZY AND YET HONORABLE AT THE SAME TIME. I THINK THERE IS AN EXCEPTIONAL AMOUNT OF COURAGE TO BE EXERTED FROM ONE WHO MAKES THIS TYPE OF COMMITMENT. I FEEL IT WILL BE AN AMAZING TEST OF WILL TO EMBARK ON THIS EPIC JOURNEY THAT WILL COVER VAST AND VARIOUS TERRAINS. YOUR CAUSE IS A NOBLE AND INSPIRING ONE. YOU BRING HOPE AND FAITH TO ANYONE THAT FEELS THE PATH BEFORE THEM IS TOO MUCH TO FATHOM. MOTIVATION AND FOCUS ARE THE KEYS TO SUCCESS AND, I THINK FROM WHAT I’VE HAD THE PLEASURE OF LEARNING ABOUT YOU, YOU WILL ALLOW NOTHING LESS. YOUR STRENGTH WILL BOOST OTHERS TO BELIEVE NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE. I PRAY FOR YOU AND THE OBSTACLES YOU ENCOUNTER. I KNOW THAT BEING IN THE MARINES TAKES A LOT OF HEART BUT, THIS TAKES THE CAKE. THEY SAY ONLY THOSE WITHOUT SIN CAN JUDGE BUT, IF YOU DO THEN WALK A MILE IN THAT PERSON SHOES FIRST. WELL… THAT’S A HELL OF A LOT OF MILES TO TRAVEL JUST TO FORM AN OPINION. SO I LEAVE YOU WITH THIS, WHEN THE DEVIL WANTS TO AFFECT YOU, HE PUTS SOMEONE IN YOUR LIFE AND, WHEN GOD WANTS TO AFFECT YOU, HE TOO PUTS SOMEONE IN YOUR LIFE AS WELL. SO WHEN SOMEONE FEELS LIKE THEY CAN NOT GO ON, THEY CAN THINK OF THE TRIUMPH OVER THE CHALLENGES THAT ZOE ROMANO OVERCAME TO ACHIEVE HER GOAL. YOU ARE AN AMAZING INDIVIDUAL THAT CARES ABOUT OTHERS, TRULY A GIFT FROM GOD. WITH EVERY MOVE YOU MAKE AND EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE, YOU LIGHTEN THE ATMOSPHERE. I AM PROUD TO HAVE MET YOU. STAY SAFE, GOOD LUCK AND, GOD SPEED!

    1. thank you Derreck!! I finally got your name spelled right : ) hope to see you again and practice some kung fu attack moves. I really appreciate your support, and i do hope i am inspiring some people along the way, and that I get to meet lots of kids at different Boys and Girls Clubs while I’m running. humans are capable of truly incredible things, they just have to believe they can do them. thank you again!

Leave a Reply

