My Home by the Sea

I made a quick and quiet getaway to Portland, Maine this past week. It was a wonderful escape from Richmond’s heat, highlighted by a week of my mom’s cooking, my dad’s jokes, and hanging out with my brother Gabe. I usually like to dip away to Maine for some rest and relaxation, but this visit was mostly business.

Last week, my friend Jeff told me that our good friend Charlotte would be up from NY this week, with a film crew and professional equipment, shooting her thesis film for NYU. If I could get up to Maine in the next few days, they would do their best to help me shoot a short advertisement for the run and fundraiser. I was on the bus the next day. Not only did Charlotte and her film crew get some great footage of me running with the stroller out at Crescent Beach, I got to hang out on a film set all week with friends from high school, and watch how everything is done, all the different tasks, right down to who sets up the lunch table. It was really cool and I wish the best of luck to Charlotte, though I know luck is not something she’s really ever needed.

I also had a very encouraging meeting with Ann Messinger, the Development Director for the Boys & Girls Club of Southern Maine. We had been emailing for a while, and it was nice to finally get to meet her and talk to her about my plans for the run, and how I hope to support the Boys & Girls Clubs of Southern Maine directly. She is also a runner, and was enthusiastic and helpful about the whole project, so I left feeling very happy.

On top of that, I also met with two local sponsors. On Wednesday I visited Carla Manganello, the Real Estate Manager at Olympia Sports, and shared my excitement about the run. I was beyond appreciative to accept Olympia Sport’s generous monetary donation, as well as a pair of my favorite running sneakers that they had special-ordered for me : )

Last but not least, I got my stroller!!! I am so excited about it, I took it out for an evening 8-miler right after I walked out of the store. I was unsure about which stroller to get, and the owner of Allspeed Cyclery and Snow, Mike Davies, was incredibly patient and helpful with me, as I spent a lot of time going back and forth over various features. I explained to him what I was doing, and he ended up giving me a very generous deal on the stroller to help support the cause. Now I am just working on my Mom to make me a cinder-block baby to put in it, so I can get used to the weight, and stop getting weird looks!

I’ll post the video footage from this week, as well as the stills, as soon as I get them from Jeff and Charlotte. Thanks again guys!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

2 thoughts on “My Home by the Sea”

  1. Big Daddy was happy to see Big Sparky home for a visit ! Let’s see in four days we drove three times to Massachusetts !!

    Now listen up all you bloggers , it’s time to start sending in the donations , we are going to begin an aggressive campaign for sponsors and donors , as well Jina and I will be hosting a social for family , friends , neighbors and other interested parties …we hope to raise at least $ 1,000.00 at this event …we’ll keep you posted and send out invitations as well …

    I wanted to share with all of you an example of Zoë’s dedication and commitment to the boys and girls who visit the clubs …this morning we had to leave for Boston @ 5:45 AM so Zoë could catch the bus to Richmond …I was the first up at about 5AM and when I got downstairs I found a note from Zoë to let me know she was out running !!

    Zoë you are an amazing daughter and friend , you inspiration through your actions helps me to keep on a ‘goin . I was proud of you when meeting Carla and Ann , I’m sure they felt enthused and inspired as well .

    Carla if you read this comment , many thanks to Olympia Sports and the entire Manganello Family for your generosity , interest and caring . I think Zoë slept with her new sneakers !

    And many thanks to Annie Messinger of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Southern Maine . We are so appreciative of the time you spent with us on Friday and we all look forward to working toward a mutually satisfying goal of helping all the many boys and girls who benefit from your hard work and dedication to their needs .

    And though I didn’t get to see Jeff , Charlotte and the fantastic film crew…a big thank you !! Zoë couldn’t say enough good things about you , I am happily awaiting the film clip and am most confident it will be very special , artistic and fun ! Don’t forget Jina still makes an awesome Friday Night Pizza and the doors always open to you for a visit and a few slices !!

    Here’s to ya “Z” …keep your feet light , your heart strong and your mind open !! Big Love , Dad xxxxooo

  2. Thanks for the thanks! We are always happy to support such a great cause & a person so strong to be willing to take on a challenge such as yours! Allspeed Cyclery is rooting for you Zoe!!!

Leave a Reply

