I am tired.

I like to think I am invincible. I’m 23, in good health, run many miles a week, try to sleep a solid 8 hours a night. But today, I am exhausted. I woke up this morning at 6, with the plan in mind to run a 19 miler out across the river and up to Pony Pastures near University of Richmond. I pulled myself out of bed, had a drink of water, and started my short morning ab routine. 4 hours later, I woke up with a stiff neck and my face plastered against my exercise mat. I don’t even remember falling asleep. I guess my body must have needed it, because even after finally pulling myself off the floor, my brain has been in a fog, with the only clear message being “must. sleep. now.” Even now, I’m wondering why the heck I’ve decided to write a blog post, as I’m sure it is going to be full of rambling, muddied content about nothing in particular. And yet I think I’ll continue my desultory scribbles. I apologize.

I think the busy trip back home, the 16 hr bus ride back to Richmond on Saturday, followed by a late night bartending really killed me. My friends make fun of me for my insistence on getting enough sleep every night, but as soon as a I go a few nights without it, I am literally hit with a wall of exhaustion. Tease me if you want, but I believe running around so much deserves a good night’s rest.

So, today I am tired. I’ll get through it, and it will make tomorrow and the next day seem much easier. I know there will be days on the road where I’ll be exhausted and I’ll have to push on through anyway. But still, this sleepy, torpid feeling is one of my least favorites, a real challenge to my commitment and endurance.

I think lots of people have this idea that runners never suffer from a lack of motivation, or that they never have a day where they just do not want to move. As far as I know, this is absolutely not true. I love to run, but I can say with confidence that this morning it was the last thing in the world that I wanted to do. The good news is that there is usually a simple cure for exhaustion and lack of motivation: Rest. Easy peasy.

So I will go to bed early tonight, and I’m certain that in the morning my feet will once again be anxious to jump in my sneakers and run out the door. I sure hope so.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

Leave a Reply

