There is no such thing as bad weather.

“Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating; there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.”

I read this quote this summer and I immediately liked it. At the time, it was like a sauna outside, and I remember telling myself that I’d have to reread this poem when the weather went to the other side of the spectrum. It is not quite winter-time yet, but I forgot how much it rains during the fall in Richmond!! Last Wednesday, I went out for one of the longer runs of the week, and I was both surprised and humbled to realize that, even after running countless miles in different climates, I had managed to misjudge the rain.

I left my house in a t-shirt and a very light rain-jacket, after 15 minutes I was still cold, and regretting my decision, but too hard-headed to just turn back and grab a better jacket. I didn’t really get much warmer until an hour later, and even then, the rain jacket I had chosen was not stopping any of the water from soaking through to my skin, so I was pretty chilly the entire run. The great thing about running in the cold rain however, is that you never want to stop or slow down, cus you know you will just get colder and uncomfortable. I ran hard for 16 miles, out along Riverside Drive to the trails behind Pony Pastures. My old stomping grounds, from when I was up the street at the University of Richmond.

The following day, I headed out into the rain again, this time with a better rain jacket, only to realize it was at least 10 degrees warmer and really only drizzling. Mother Nature will always outsmart me.

On the business side of things, the organizing continues to move along. I’ve been running with my stroller and have gotten oddly attached to it, it sincerely keeps me company on my longer runs. I need a name, anybody got any suggestions? I’ve started writing to more companies looking for sponsorships, my goal is to write to about 5 companies a week, and I’ll keep the blog updated with that process. I’ve met more and more people who are enthusiastic about everything and want to help out with lodging, donations, etc., and I cannot say enough how encouraging it is to receive such kindness, especially from strangers.

Also, while I was running the other day, I was thinking I should start posting music that I run to, because sometimes there is just that one song that really pushes me through a tough spot, or gets me grinning and dancing along like an idiot, and it’s always nice to share some good tunes. On this run, it was a Toots and the Maytals cover of the Otis Redding song “Dreams to Remember”.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

2 thoughts on “There is no such thing as bad weather.”

  1. Pay Me My Money Down, I love that song : ) We went to a Springsteen concert a couple summers ago, he was incredible, had so much energy and spark. I think he would have played for hours and hours longer if he was allowed to. I will have to check out “Tusk” also. Thanks Uncle Jim!

Leave a Reply

