People are nice.

I’m sorry to everyone for taking so long to get a new post up! Things have been really busy since I’ve been home; running around doing lots of organizing, raising money, meeting people, and of course getting lots of miles in everyday. I had a really nice experience last weekend, and have been wanting to post something about it since it happened.
So last Saturday I stopped by Allspeed Cyclery and Snow, the shop where I bought my stroller. It’s right down the street and they were having this really cool event called “Cranksgiving” – a bunch of bike people met up at Allspeed, got a list of groceries to buy, and another list of grocery stores around Portland that they had to get the items from. No designated map or route. Everyone took off on their bikes and the competitive ones made a race of it. The race/scavenger hunt ended back at Allspeed, where all the groceries were donated to Project F.E.E.D. (a local Food Bank) and the owners served up burgers, hotdogs and cold brews.
I opted out of the bicycle race, but stopped by with my stroller to drop off some canned goods. I struck up a conversation with a woman who had just done the event. Inevitably she asked why there was no baby in the stroller. As soon as I told her the story and what I’m planning to do, she reached into her pocket and gave me a twenty-dollar bill….and this being right after she had just bought $20 worth of groceries for the food-drive. We kept talking and it turns out she grew up on Munjoy Hill (my family too), our families know each other, she’s got a daughter named Zoe who goes to Portland HS (I did too) and who goes to the Boys & Girls Club across the street everyday. And she just moved to a side-street right down the street from my house. Small world. The whole thing just made me feel so good — throughout all of this I’ve continually been surprised and encouraged by the compassion of strangers. So Mary if you get a chance to read this, thank you very much : )
And of course a HUGE thank you to everyone who has already helped and shared their enthusiasm with me. We still haven’t gotten a chance to tally the donations from the fundraising reception, because quite a few cards came in the mail this past week from friends and family who couldn’t make it to the party.
The next steps will be approaching local companies for sponsorships, and contacting hotels, inns etc. along the route to see if they might be able to donate a night of lodging. Check out the “Many Thanks To” link on the sidebar to see the full list of companies and individuals who have helped support the cause.
I also had the honor of attending a recent Board Meeting for the Boys & Girls Clubs of Southern Maine, and I will post the details about that in the next post, I think this one is quite long already!!
And lastly, check out a few new photos from the fundraising reception in the “Photos” sidebar! Thanks to everyone : )

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

Leave a Reply

