It’s kind of a funny story

For the past 4 or 5 years, whenever I’m home in Maine I run pretty much the same route. Sometimes I change it up; on a long day I head to Baxter Boulevard, in the summertime I love running from Kettle Cove along to Crescent Beach, winding through Rt. 77 over to Higgins, Scarborough, and Ferry Beach. But mostly, I run a 6-8 mile loop near my house, and these days I just run that same route several times a day.

So the point is, I’ve been running on this same loop for a while now. Like, 4 years. There is a very friendly, smiley woman who always walks this loop at about the same time that I run it, so we pass by each other fairly often. She’s been walking it ever since I started running it, and it’s kind of cute because in some distant way we’ve gone through 4 years of warm weather, stormy days, cold mornings, heavy traffic, and new industrial developments together. Always exchanging a smile and a wave, even from across the street. Even when I was away for a few months at college and home for just a few days, we’d always cross paths and share a smile.

Anyway, last week I finally stopped and talked to her – I wanted to tell her why I was running with a baby-less stroller and reassure her that I wasn’t a crazy person. She made me laugh by remarking that she could tell from the way I handled the stroller that there definitely wasn’t any baby inside! I shared what I was doing with her and we talked a little bit and then we both went on our ways.

Today, I ran into her again and she stopped me and asked if I could add her to the list of sponsors. So we talked a little more and I gave her an extra flyer that I had in the stroller and told her to check out the blog etc. And I ran away all happy and excited until I realized that I did not even get her name or anything! I’m telling myself that I was just in my running zen zone but really I feel like an idiot! So; friendly lady that I pass by every morning, I hope that you get a chance to read this and I’m very sorry for not even getting your name! It always takes a couple minutes to transition from the rundreaming world into the real world. But I’m sure I will see you out on the loop again soon : )

And in any case I’ve been wanting to share that story for a while because I think it’s really sweet, that sort of early-morning-exercise camaraderie that you develop with people who you pass by all the time, even if you don’t even know them.

This picture’s unrelated but hey, it’s nice to have somethin’ to look at.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “It’s kind of a funny story”

  1. Hey Z ….Portland is so lucky to have you running up and down our streets !!

    Don’t stop your visits to the shop during your runs , I am always looking for you and hoping you’ll take a break from running to say hi and make my day …there’s a picture of you on my desk , in the picture I see a young girl with a look in her eye that says …”I can do anything I dream of” …out my office window , when you run by , I see a young woman ” doing all she has dreamed of” … when you are out there somewhere , anywhere and everywher between California and South Carolina remember to have “run dreams” of Mom and I and always know we are right next to you and when the hills are steep , we’ll be right behind you with a gentle push on and when you don’t know what’s around the bend , imagine Mom and I there waving you on with love and pride …and when you are lonely and missing home , remember our happy home where there’s a pizza in the stove , a Mom sayin’ her prayers , a Dad bragging to the ENTIRE world , a budding birch tree in the back yard and hearts that are always waiting on the porch to welcome you home .

    With you always , Dad xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

