“I always loved running…”

“I always loved running…it was something you could do by yourself, and under your own power. You could go in any direction, fast or slow as you wanted, fighting the wind if you felt like it, seeking out new sights just on the strength of your feet and the courage of your lungs”

^One of my favorite quotes, by Jesse Owens. I’m actually on a rest day today, which I guess is good since it’s raining, and I can’t stand being inside and not running on a sunny day, but I still feel a bit like a lion in a cage right now. I’m taking the extra time to continue working on the logistics and organization of the run. My parents (the King and Queen of Logistics) and I are working on compiling a database with info about all the places I’ll be running through – safety contact info, lodging info, local Boys & Girls Clubs, running clubs, climate, etc. It’s a lot of work but it’s exciting to read a bit about the towns before I get there and to dream about what sort of adventures I’ll be having!! I’ve been getting in touch with people along the route and have sent them this blog site, so please if you’re reading this and have any helpful info you’d like to share about the weather, traffic, resources, etc., in your town, please send it along in a comment or email. (zoeromano@gmail.com)

We are also continuing to work on sponsorships with local companies, to date we’ve partnered with Gorham Savings Bank, Olympia Sports, CBC Advertising, Verrill Dana Law Firm, Allspeed Cyclery and Snow, and Holiday Signs and M.L. Bell Construction down in Richmond. It is INCREDIBLE to see how many people want to help out with this thing and how much goodwill and positive thoughts I’ve received so far. It is very encouraging.

I’m also happy to announce that today I dusted off my calculator and added up all the contributions made so far towards this project – it all adds up to an amazing $6,475!!! I cannot say enough how grateful I am to everyone who has contributed and to those who continue to offer their support. Thank you : ) I hope everyone also has a chance to check out the “Many Thanks To” link on the sidebar and view their name. And please let me know if I’ve forgotten a spouse, child, misspelled anything, etc.

Hmm, what else is new? Mostly, I’m just excited to get out to California and start the adventure!! I am really in crunch-time mode now, which means every spare minute of the day is spent working on logistics, or running. Last night, I had a dream I was running through the desert in Arizona. The road was so narrow and the shoulder was entirely sand. My brother and sisters were all there, and two of my friends from Richmond. I woke up from the dream feeling vague – nothing substantial had really happened. I stayed up for a while, confused in that half-asleep stage where you’re not entirely certain where you are – it wasn’t until I became aware of the heavy rain beating overhead on my skylights that I realized I must not be in the desert.

I sure hope that the shoulders in AZ are not entirely sand, but hey, what’s a run across the country without a few unexpected obstacles?

I hope everyone is staying dry today, I’m getting antsy sitting inside and just waiting to run again tomorrow….

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on ““I always loved running…””

  1. Dear Sparky
    I just want you to know that I’m really getting spoiled coming home for lunch & seeing you here. That’s all I could think about today as I was returning back to work. I’m so lucky to have you here for now. oxox mom

Leave a Reply

