Thank you DeLorme!!

WOW exciting news to share!!! Thanks to DeLorme I will be bringing an Earthmate PN-60w with SPOT Satellite Communicator on my trip!! It’s a long name, yes. Basically it is a handheld Satellite GPS device that does all sorts of nifty things. I first saw the gadget in a Backpacker magazine last month and when I saw it was made by DeLorme I took it as a sign – for those of you who aren’t familiar with DeLorme, they are a leading company in the business of map-making and GPS technologies, and their headquarters is right here in Maine : )

They were very enthusiastic when I first wrote to them about my run, and after talking some more about my goals for this project, they let me know that they would be donating an Earthmate GPS for me to use during the run. I got it yesterday and can’t wait to set it up. My parents are beyond gracious because the device will be a HUGE help safety-wise. It comes loaded with street and topo maps, keeps track of where I am, has an S.O.S. button, and can send messages and “I’m OK” updates from anywhere. We’re talking from the backcountry of the backcountry.

And me, I’m stoked about how cool this thing is – I can send updates to Facebook, and email/texts from way out in the middle of nowhere. But the best part is – it links to Google Maps and a “SPOT Adventures” page where people can track me in real-time and actually watch me progress mile-by-mile! I am SO excited about this and I hope my friends and family have fun checking up on me : ) I will definitely be setting everything up very soon and I’ll post a permanent link up here to the Adventure Page.

Now that I’ve got the Earthmate GPS, I really can’t wait to start!! My head is buzzing with a million thoughts a minute, if you can’t tell by all the exclamation points in this post. There is a tiny bit of nervous energy going on too, but I’ll save that for another post. When I heard from DeLorme I was actually in the middle of a run, and I danced my way back home after I got the good news – and that’s pretty much how I’ve been feeling all week : )

For all the hikers, runners, adventurers and vagabonds out there who might be curious about what exactly the Earthmate PN-60w with SPOT Satellite Communicator is, check it out: http://www.delorme.com/

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

Leave a Reply

