It’s a Beautiful Day

I’m sitting here eating my breakfast, drinking coffee, making the to-do list for the day. I had a great sort of “A-Ha!” moment last night and went to scribble all the thoughts down in my journal – I’d love to post it here, but somehow I’ve only got two minutes to spare and I figured a short post is better than nothing.

What’s clear to me right now is that it is INCREDIBLE how much kindness and encouragement I’ve received so far and I haven’t even begun the run. From friends, family, total strangers. Couchsurfers, fellow runners, local businesses, schools, and PTAs. I haven’t even started the adventure yet and I’ve already learned so much. One thing that’s always stuck with me and which has only been confirmed by all this is that the energy and attitude that you put out there, is what you get back. Everybody’s got the option to be kind. And when we all work at mirroring each others kindness, it makes everything much more enjoyable.

So let’s all wear our kind faces today, yeah?

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Beautiful Day”

  1. Hey Sparky ….is that Big Daddy the Jog Blog Dog ?? He sure looks good doesn’t he !! Now that’s a happy face , made that way by one very special Daughter …OH I am so proud , tears well in my eyes every time I think of all the fun we have had with the planning , fundraising , visits to friends and I will never …NEVER forget the Joan Benoit Afternoon !!

    Big Love , Dad xxxooo ( aka : Big Daddy the Jog Blog Dog )

  2. Dearest Zoe
    You could not have chosen a better photo. It’s so fitting with all the work dad has poured into this project. In case anyone wants to know, Rick has spent every free moment working on the “red tape” of the run & always with a smile. At the moment he’s sending off an email response to the Phoenix newspaper that should be on the newsstand Wednesday.
    As for you my sweet Sparky , Rosa , Erin & you are finally in the air on your way to the LA airport. I miss you girls already. oxox mom

Leave a Reply

