Story in the Portland Phoenix, Mexican food deliciousness, and logistics

The Portland Phoenix ran a story about the run today! Check it out : Phoenix Story — Thanks Deirdre!

Back here our 2nd day in Huntington Beach is coming to a close and we are all sleepy sleepy sleepy. We did a lot of logistics stuff today, working on getting in touch with local media and setting up a meeting with the Boys & Girls Club in Huntington Beach. I also had a chance to talk to a local paper about the run, and we’re hoping they’ll be able to make it out to the start of the run on Saturday.

We set up a meeting for Friday at the Boys and Girls Club here, I’ll be talking to the kids about what I’m doing, and hopefully motivating them to chase their dreams too : ) I’m a bit nervous as we are working on getting the local media there too, but it’s all very exciting!

Other than that we are working on getting some fellow runners to join in for the start of the run on Saturday. We stopped by a 24 hour gym on our way back from dinner and told them about the run, and they said they’d love to help out and post info about it as well as a ‘sign-up sheet’ for the start of the run, so hopefully we can recruit some people that way!

Aside from logistics stuff, I got in a beautiful AM run and again in the afternoon. I packed all my stuff (except for my clothes) in the stroller, and it seems to be about the weight I’ve been training with, so that’s good : ) It was another beautiful day, perfect temps and the sun shining.

I just wanted to say thank you again to everyone who has been sending me their support and encouragement. It really means a lot. I have to apologize if you have emailed me and I haven’t gotten back yet, I’ve just been super busy getting all the last minute things taken care of. But please know that I love getting those emails and a response is coming soon : )

Ok time for bed – we went out for delicious Mexican food and then ice cream, and we are all in a bit of a food coma….

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Story in the Portland Phoenix, Mexican food deliciousness, and logistics”

  1. I love to hear that you’re having a food coma. Eat as much as you can cuz you know you’re going to need it. I started a food stash today for Gabe’s RV with you. Tons of love oxoxo mom

Leave a Reply

