Detour to Los Angeles

End of Day 3 in Huntington Beach – exhausted. Long day, exciting and busy. We spent the morning continuing to work on logistics, contacting the press, last minute preparations etc. Then we went to LA for the afternoon and had a wonderful time with our friend Anita : ) We saw the sights and then sat around the table at her house, talking with her parents and enjoying some deeeelicious Armenian pastries. We talked the evening away and Anita’s parents reminded me so much of my own, they are very supportive of their daughters’ endeavors and very open-minded to discussing all of life’s issues with them. I kept wishing my parents could have been there too to meet them.

We just got back and I am beat and have a jam-packed day tomorrow, so this entry will be short. Tomorrow is my last day before I start the run and I’ve got a presentation at 4 pm at the local Boys & Girls Club so I’ve go to prepare for that, go hand out flyers and get some fellow runners to come out for the start, connect with the organizers of a big surf contest being held here on Saturday, import lots of music, do laundry, etc., etc. Lots of excitement : ) I’ll be sure to post again tomorrow night before I leave on Saturday morning.
One quick thing – there is a live surf camera here that films along the beach live everyday. I am going to start on the Huntington Beach Pier at 8 am, and if all goes well, the camera will be set to the Pier so people can watch the start. I found out today that the camera rotates every once in a while due to a glitch in the software which cannot be fixed until Monday, but 90% of the time it is fixed right on the Pier, so I’m hoping that that’s where it will be at 8 am on Saturday! If not, I’m going to dip the stroller in the ocean around 7:45, and you should be able to see that on an additional surf cam. The website for the live surf cam is: http://www.ci.huntington-beach.ca.us/visitors/Beach_info/LiveBeachCondition.cfm

And I’ll be starting at 8 am Pacific Time. I’ll repost these details tomorrow as well.

Goodnight!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

One thought on “Detour to Los Angeles”

  1. Run, Zoe, run! Be safe, stay healthy, and have fun. Call us at anytime if you need anything at all. We love you tons, Aunt Anne and Uncle Dave

Leave a Reply

