A River Runs Through It

Two crazy things happened today. The first, I ran two and a half miles in the wrong direction, got lost in an orange grove, and had to turn back around, running 5 wrong miles. I guess if it’s going to happen it might as well happen in the beginning of the trip. I had missed an unmarked turn to follow the trail I was on, and instead kept going up one side of the River, only to find out the trail dead-ended in an orange grove, flanked by a freeway and a mountain.

Second thing — I ran through the mountains!!!!!! I saw them up ahead of me, and I soon realized I was going to run through them…………it was the coolest thing ever. I can’t explain the feeling of knowing you have reached the mountains in the distance and are going to pass through them to the town on the other side. It’s awesome!!!! And the views… indescribable. As a wiseman once said, I couldn’t tell where the heavens ended and the earth began. It was so beautiful.

So I ended the day with a grand total of 34 miles! I am a bit beat now, just had a deeeeeeeeeeeelicious dinner made by very courteous CouchSurfer Leviticus and am about to pass out. A longer post tomorrow, I promise!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

3 thoughts on “A River Runs Through It”

  1. God bless the couch surfers & dearest Zoe God bless you!!!!! tons of love mom ps 2 days down!!! Day 3 take it easy girl

  2. Many thanks to Lev …will he come to Maine and help Mom with the cooking ??

    34 Miles ….I can’t even imagine running that kind of distance !! Please take care of those feet and legs so you can continue to send nice geographic descriptions and progress reports back home .

    Sparky sorry for being so dry and matter of fact when you call …that’s just one side of me ( the serious , looking after my daughter side ) …the other side of me is jumping up and down with excitement , cheering you on , having butterflies in my stomach and wishing I could be right next to enjoying the adventure ! Let’s set some time aside during your daily check ins to talk more about the fun stuff after we get thru the daily safety check in stuff .

    May today bring a strong wind to your back and make the next run a little easier .

    Gabe arrives Thursday but it looks like some big snow for Wednesday …we’ll get him there by hook or by crook !

    Big Love , Big Daddy The Jog Blog Dog xoxox

  3. Hi Zoe
    Just wanted to tell you how much I look forward to reading your posts. Its funny everyday I come home from work the first thing I do is check in to see what new and exciting story you have for us to read. I love it, keep up the good work and dont forget to eat lots and lots and REST. Big love to you xox Aunt Grace

Leave a Reply

