End of week one!

Today I walked for 14 miles!  My ankle was sore and I didn’t want to push it too much so I took it easy and walked a lot. I started the day with another long ascent, and finished the day with an amazing massage courtesy of Levi’s mom Debra. Levi is the couchsurfer I’m staying with, he’s been really helpful :  )

I was supposed to meet up with my brother today but he had RV troubles so I have to wait til tomorrow :  (  this morning I headed out with my stroller but realized a few miles in that the hill would be really hard to do with the stroller, so I turned back and left it at Levi’s house then headed out again. I was chuckling thinking that I’ve had to backtrack for one reason or another every single day so far. Except the first. I don’t know what it will be like when I just have a ‘normal’ day!!

I also met some cool guys at a rock climbing store today and they were telling me about their friend who biked across the country in NINE days. Nine days!! People are crazy.  The store also had 2 flavors of Clif Shot Bloks that I’ve never tasted so that kinda made my day.
tomorrow im thinking I will probably take a rest day and go exploring with my brother if he gets here early enough.

That’s it for the first week! A ginormous thank you to everyone who helped me along this week-  couch surfers Sharon, Lev, Christiaan, Levi, Mary and Shane. The local Boys and Girls Clubs, Christine, Jeanette, Debra, Miracle Hot Springs Resort, Carolyn, Anthony, Erin and Rosa. And of course mom and dad.

And thanks to everyone who’s donated!  Think it’s at around $ 8,500 now!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

5 thoughts on “End of week one!”

  1. Zoe! It was awesome to meet you at the climbing store and watch those ankles! Don’t hurt your self. Very inspiring to see you running across America! Good luck.

  2. Dear Sparky
    Here is an extra big thank you to the couch surfer hosts who have taken care of you this week. I don’t think dad & I would have survived without them. Also a special thank you to Krystal & Miracle Springs Resort & Spa in Desert Hot Springs. They have all been so kind & generous. with deepest gratitude & much love oxoxox mom

  3. Zoe,

    Kent again. Hey, sorry to keep pecking at you but one last thing I should probably say. I looked at your route through the CA desert and it looks like you are taking the Bradshaw Trail between Mecca and Blythe. It’s that road south of the I-10. Unless that road has been upgraded in the last couple of years, that is a 90-mile dirt road with heavy washboard, some deep gravel and sandy stretches with no water or habitation anywhere. I don’t think you can push a stroller through there. I think you said you had an RV helping you out, but I would still check FOR SURE with the police in Mecca to make sure that road is passable for an RV with all the rain we had a few weeks ago. Again, unless there have been some major improvements, that is a sketchy, poorly-maintained dirt road through serious desert terrain.

    Again, sorry to be a downer, I hate doing that! Just concerned, that is all. No more dire warnings from here on out I promise. Good luck—Kent.

  4. Congrats on week 1, Zoe! and thanks for the great pics. Hope you and Gabe have a wonderful adventure this week. Tons of love to you both, xoxox Aunt Anne

    PS was that ginormous, as in Tanguaray?

  5. hi zoe greetings from gram. this is the first for me on the a computer many congratulations and big love big big hugs and kisses keep up your great work and feel my wind beneath your wings love and god bless you zoe will write later gram

Leave a Reply

