New sneakers and rendezvous #3 with my Uncle

image

There was a record number of views on the blog last night! Woohoo!

Today was a fantastic day. Felt good after a day of R&R and I knew I’d meet up with my Uncle Al at the end of the day so that added motivation. The miles ticked by quickly today and I’m almost afraid to say it because I don’t want to jinx anything.

I must have brushed against some desert plants because I got a bit of a reaction going on up my calves, but hopefully it will work itself out. Just slathered on some Neosporin. Really, everything in the desert wants to hurt your skin!

After running we went to the Runner’s Den in Phoenix so that I could pick up pair #2 of sneakers. I got a pair a size larger than normal because my feet have been swelling quite a bit this past week.  Hoping it helps tomorrow.  Craig at the Runner’s Den was very helpful and supportive of what I am doing.  He told me I should start picking up money when I run because he has picked up over $8600 over the years!! Can you believe that?!  I was also hoping to say hi to Ron, another Runner’s Den running guru, because he had talked to my Dad and helped suggest a place to go to get my feet checked out while I was in Phoenix.  Ron if you happen to see this, thanks for suggesting Endurance Lab! I think I will get in to see someone this week :  )

So all in all, a great day. And I’m exhausted. Every night it is still surprising to me how sleepy I get as soon as 830 rolls around. Goodnight everyone!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 thoughts on “New sneakers and rendezvous #3 with my Uncle”

  1. I ran into you at the Runners Den last night (well, not “ran” but you know what I mean). Good luck with your journey across the US!

  2. Good Night Sneakers , good night road , good night swollen feet , good night bengay , good night stroller , good night PN-60 , good night cell phone , goodnight Moon !!

    No bedtime stories needed for our incredibly amazing long distance runner !!

    Good Night Z …………..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz xoxoxoxoxox

  3. Sparky
    Sleepy at 8:30 reminds me of Pine Tree Swim Club days. You were out as soon as your head hit the pillow always fast asleep before anyone else. Always recharging for the next adventure!! As always be safe & via con Dios
    oxox mom

Leave a Reply

