Love, love, love

image

Today I ran and I visited the Boys and Girls Club here.  The goodwill and enthusiasm that I received there hit me straight in the heart.  The kids were amazing, the staff was amazing. I left feeling very struck by how incredibly lucky I am to be doing this and meeting SO MANY good people and playing with kids and running down the horizon everyday. It overwhelmed me to the point of feeling so happy like I could cry.

It was an emotional day. A great day. Before the club I was thinking of my parents and how hard it is when you’re trying to communicate with your loved ones and share all the experiences you have while on the road. Even just explaining the scenery is hard, let alone the personal transformations you go through.  As I was thinking about this frustrating gap between our words and our personal experiences, a song came on my mp3 player. A perfect song. So here it is, in a letter to my parents:

Dear Mom and Dad,

Today I’m writing you to catch you up on places that I’ve been. And now you have this letter, you probably got excited, but there’s nothing else inside it. I didn’t have a camera by my side this time, I was hoping I would see the world through both my eyes. Maybe I will tell you all about it when I’m in the mood to lose my way with words.

Today’s skies were painted colors in the cowboy cliche and it was  strange how clouds that looked like mountains in the sky were next to mountains anyway. I guess you had to be there, with me.

Today I finally overcame trying to fit the world inside a picture frame. Maybe I will tell you all about it when I’m in the mood to lose my way, but let me say, you should have seen that sunrise with your own eyes, it brought me back to life.

You’ll be with me next time I go outside, no more 3x5s. 

Mom you’re always in my right shoe, and Dad you’re in my left.

xoxo

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

5 thoughts on “Love, love, love”

  1. I’ve been reading the blog since I heard about what you were doing. I’m a police/fire dispatcher in Riverside (you ran through here) and was truly inspired and excited to hear about your goal, not to mention your inspiration for doing it.

    As a 28 year old single father of 2, I’ve made my “journey” in life already. But it’s quite amazing to watch someone go out into the world to make it a better place and let people inside your mind.

    The gift of this blog has more weight than you might think. You bring daily inspiration to those looking to make a change, you entertain with daily anecdotes, and best of all your giving your parents an amazing collection of stories as to how their little girl has grown up.

    I’m certain they are very proud of you (as I am of my 8 and 4 year olds) and keep up all the good work. Oh, and kudos for being a John Meyer fan. Take care and safe journies.

    Your fan,
    Joe

  2. You’re a good daughter, any parent would be proud of. I know they’ll be with you in awhile for a couple of weeks. That’ll be fun. And how about Joe C.? Nice man.

    Uncle Jim

  3. Oh Dearest Sparky ….you little rascal …you have brought me to tears again

    Remember when after dinner you would get up from your seat and come sit on my right knee ..and then Gabe would do the same and sit on my left knee…Did I ever tell you , every time you and Gabe did that …my world was perfect at that moment , all time stopped and my heart swelled with love and emotion .

    I am happy to know I am in your left sneaker and Mom is in your right …just like always …..Mom and I next to each other with our children nearby !

    Bill thank you for your kind words , good luck to you and your two children…I have often said that having children is like having Christmas every day …they are the best gift ever !!!! If you ever visit Portland , Maine make sure to come visit us . Jina makes a great Pizza and our home is always open to friends and family .

    To all the Bloggers supporting Zoë …many thanks from one proud ( and today a little teary eyed ) Dad

  4. Well every one those Senior moments seem to be increasing daily !! Yikes …in my last comment I thanked Bill for his nice comment and kind words …I am sorry Joe for calling you Bill .

    MANY THANKS TO JOE THE VERY KIND RIVERSIDE CALIFORNIA DISPATCH OFFICER !!

    THE OFFER’S THE SAME JOE ….GOOD PIZZA AND A HOME THAT WELCOMES YOU ANY TIME !! BEST , RICK

  5. Zoe
    Thank you for what you are doing for the kids all across America! Our members were thrilled to have you and we will continue to appreciate what you have done. Be safe and stay healthy
    Heather Perez
    Program Manager-Jerry Colangelo Branch
    Boys and Girls Clubs of Metro Phoenix

Leave a Reply

