Pain

image

Today was painful. Full of pain! Well not the whole day. It was actually a really busy day. I was up at 6 to get some miles in before going to a class at the Senior Police Academy with my Uncle. It’s a pretty cool thing running when it’s still dark in the morning.

From there we went to Endurance Rehab, a physical therapy place where the very kind Matt Kraemer and Tracy evaluated my ankles and then inflicted a great deal of pain on them. Ow, ow, ow. It seems that dang Achilles tendon was giving me some trouble and so Matt did a procedure called A.S.T.Y.M. When Tracy told me about it I asked her if it was a pill. Ha, ha. That was my dumb moment of the day.  She chuckled and told me no it was not a pill and that it would hurt a little bit.

Holy smoke. It ranked up in top 3 most painful experiences I’ve ever had even though it was only about 3 minutes long. They put lotion on your calves and ankles (sounds nice) and then they take a hard plastic edge, sort of like the edge of a thick comb, and they run it very very very hard over your Achilles tendon, along your ankle and calf. Essentially shredding your tendon to get rid of any bad buildup, knots, etc, so that it will rebuild itself the right way next time. At least I think that’s the basic idea. I was too busy screaming like a baby to pay too much attention.  They told me I might get some sweet bruising from this wonderful procedure so I will post pictures if I do :  )

After that I had an interview with the local ABC news station here and it was one of the first times I wasn’t sick with nervousness beforehand.  If anyone wants to check it out I think it should be up online, just try goggling the ABC+  Phoenix news.

Then I finally got to get to my run. I had about 19 miles to go and it was perfect weather the whole time. Plus I had a new set of ankles. Sorta. I was pretty beat though.  I almost thought I would have to call it around 10 miles but I ended up finding a 2nd and 3rd wind inside me somewhere, which carried me through til I finished with 25 miles for the day.

Now I’m laying here with ice on my ankles, ice on my knees, ice on my hips, and icepacks under my hamstrings. Listening to Mmmbop. It’s quite the cozy goodnight routine. I am listening to Mmmbop because I’ve reached a new level of desperate searching for music to run to so PLEASE EVERYONE SUGGEST SOME TUNES FOR ME! They pull me through the miles, really.

Thanks again to Matt Kraemer and Endurance Rehab of Phoenix, AZ for the help with the (very painful) Achilles treatment!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Pain”

  1. Sparky I will make some music this weekend and ship it off immediately to Uncle Al’s house …

    Please take good care cause you still have a long way to go …I can’t believe you managed 25 miles yesterday after all you did during the day too !

    Hope the Police taught you some good defense moves …

    Back home the snow continues to pile up and Mom and I are getting excited about seeing you in just a few weeks !

    Have a happy day Spoarky ….Big Love , dad xoxox

Leave a Reply

