Construction angst

image

I’m falling asleep as I type this so it will just be a short entry tonight.  Today started off pretty tediously. I was too antsy to properly stretch beforehand so after I took off my Achilles were hurting and I had to stop and stretch. Repeat that 4 times and I was getting a bit frustrated. Plus the street I was on had miles of construction going on-  they were re-paving the entrances to businesses and shopping plazas etc which meant that every 20 ft the pedestrian way was re-routed around the machines, across the street, or just disappeared. Grrr!
I try not to make any decisions about a run until an hour or two in. So after the first hour I decided to walk an entire hour and stretch out the Achilles that way. Walking might sound easier but when you get used to running it feels so slow and tedious! After an hour I started running again and it felt wonderful. Even ran faster than normal because I had some ants in my pants from walking for so long. Stopped and got a lime slushee and that was quite a nice treat in the hot sun. 

That reminds me that yesterday I ran on Camelback Rd in Phoenix almost all day. In the distance is Camelback Mountain. It made me chuckle the whole way cause I had my Camelbak water pack on. He he he.

Tomorrow I have an early breakfast with my Uncle at the clubhouse and then my last run before a rest day on Sunday.  It’s been a great week :  )

PS I took this photo cus it reminded me of home. Weird yeah but near my neighborhood back home we have a restaurant called Wok In and I used to run by it 4 times a day.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

3 thoughts on “Construction angst”

  1. Dearest Sparky
    Thanks for keeping those eyes open just long enough to give us all a glimpse of your day. Your posts have made me laugh they have made me cry & as your #1 fan they sure have made me proud!! Love you with all my heart oxox mom

  2. Hi Zoe!

    You’re doing great, and what a treat it is to read your posts. UD and I love that we can keep up with you and hear how you’re doing. And what super people you’ve met along the way! Maybe after you reach Charleston, you’ll settle in to write about adventures, rather than “do’ the adventures. Hmmmm I wonder …….

    Take good care of yourself. Enjoy your Sunday with Uncle Al.

    Tons of love,
    Aunt Anne

  3. Well Sparky …sooner or later you going to see a place that says ” Run In”…when you do , go for it !

    I hope today brings a little better day of running , it looks like the route is a bit more though open highways .

    As always , thanks for the post and keep on keepin on .

    I did want to tell you that I am missing our Bull Moose outings …we will have to go everyday for a month when you get back home …Sade owes me some big time Sushi , Rosa and I have missed Starbucks for quite some time and Gabe and I haven’t played hoops in like forever ….so here’s how it will go when you get back home : We all start the day at Starbucks , get amped on coffee , then we play some fast and furious hoops , then we go off for an afternoon of Sushi followed by a music free for all at Bull Moose ! And we might even stay yate yate yate !

    Big Love from Big Daddy the Jog Blog Dog !! xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

