Piece of Cake

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Today was an easy day. Psyche!! Physically it might have been the toughest, or at least it should have been, lots of climbing climbing climbing. But WOW it was incredibly beautiful and the views made me forget the ascents.  I think it was my favorite run so far. I can’t even think of how to explain the feeling, running through the mountains, reaching a place called ‘Top of the World’ , looking down on everything. Looking back and seeing how much ground you’ve covered by yourself, on your own two feet.  Sprinting through a narrow tunnel carved through the mountain. Starting the day in the rain, looking up and realizing that those peaks are where you’re headed.  Running into hail at the top. Seeing a spot in the distance and trying to estimate the mileage and the time you’ll reach it.

Wow, wow, and wow.  After today I think I have a new level of expectations for myself.  A new understanding of what’s possible, even when people tell you it’s not.

This sounds really silly, but the best comparison I can think of is when I used to play Donkey Kong and I’d reach some new secret level and find all these new obstacles.  Except this was real life and the obstacles were beautiful, challenging, surprising.  Incredible.

The whole time I kept thinking that the route was a perfect marathon just waiting to be organized. It’s got elevation gains, losses, switchbacks, amazing views, old towns, bridges, tunnels, canyons, valleys.  Maybe after all this I can convince the towns of Superior and Globe to help me organize a race there-  definitely would need some roads shut down!

Check out the pictures-  I took 35 just today but they hardly do the run justice.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

2 thoughts on “Piece of Cake”

  1. Great Pictures! Looks like the perfect day. I just moved to Arizona and that’s what I love the most… the insane landscapes. Sometimes it feels like another planet.

  2. Thanks for the great pix Z ….and thank you for the descriptive writing …I actually felt the pain , the exhilaration , the pounding heart and I could feel the vibe of the music and the scenery ; so true , it is often music that gets us thru , something special like a distant vista that pushes us on or being lost in a thought of “what if” that delivers us thru a tough time without notice of it .

    In a similar way , your journey lifts me from the day to day routines back home where the snow has piled high , work continues to be a pesty burden and a longing for green grass , warm breezes and steamy nights consumes my psyche .

    So tomorrow I’ll get my running gear on , stretch a bit , open the porch door and jog off into your blog …the hills will lift me , the music will energize me and the long road ahead will be 25 miles shorter !

    Lotsa Love , Dad xoxox

Leave a Reply

