Always an adventure

Today was interesting…we locked ourselves out of the car at a gas station early in the morning.  6 hours later we were finally on the road! the town we were in only had one towing truck and we had to wait for it to get back from another town.  It was actually really cool though because we got to hang out in this neat old town and meet a lot of people in just a few hours. The sheriff, the gas station attendant, the towing men, plus some locals with really interesting stories.  So it was actually pretty cool to take a breather from running and spend some time meeting people and experiencing the local culture.

I finally started running around 230 and ended the day with 16 miles before it got dark.  There was a windstorm that came through the area and it felt like I was running with 25mph winds at my back the whole time!  It literally felt like the wind was tossing me along down the highway.  If I didn’t have to stop because of the sun setting, I think I would have gotten a marathon PR, that’s how strong the wind was pushing me along.

Tomorrow will be an early morning run so that I can take a detour to go check out Silver City, NM. Can’t wait!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Always an adventure”

  1. Hey Sparky …last week I locked myself out of my truck twice !! You are not alone !

    Big Sky , Wide Eyes , Long Road ….Good Rest , Dreams Woven , Sleepy Awakenings , Morning Stretching , Then The Running ….Big Sky , Wide Eyes , Long Road ….

Leave a Reply

