Something happens to me out there…

Apologies for no post yesterday…so many things happen everyday it’s hard to keep up with it all!  Today was a play day. I woke up a bit late and got a late start and I just felt like playing instead of working. “Working” of course would be running 25 miles by 4 pm.  “Playing” would be running about that but not worrying about time or stretching etc.  So Alex and I had some fun attaching his camera to different parts of my stroller and filming while I was running.  The rough footage looks so cool! Alex is going to make a polished product after he leaves me, and I can’t wait to see how it turns out…we’ve been doing some really cool shots.

Today while we were doing all this, a man pulled over, asked what we were up to, and then introduced himself as a reporter for the local paper. So cool! So we sat down and talked with him for a while, and hopefully the story will be in the Silver City newspaper this week!  By wacky coincidence, he had just interviewed someone last week who is a quadriplegic and is hand-cycling across the country!  So many crazy inspiring people out there…

After that we did some more cool filming and then it was time to get down to business for the day.  After so much stop and go with the filming and the meeting with the journalist I was feeling a bit off balance, off ‘schedule’ and sorta unmotivated to run.  Also I was running hills at 6,700 ft altitude, so it wasn’t the easiest run I had in front of me.

Long story short, I just hit the road running and after about 2 miles an incredible calmness floated through me.  Something really happens to me out there, while I’m running…sometimes I get the typical ‘runners high’, a burst of energy, creative ideas, thoughts, etc. And other times I just get this incredible calm and peace of mind.  But no matter how I start a run, I always end it better.  I heard someone say once, if you want to do something everyday that makes you feel good, be a runner.  I really think it’s true.  No matter what feeling comes over me while I run, it is always a positive one.  I don’t think anyones ever finished a run and thought, “Man I wish I didn’t do that”

Aside from the daily running reflections, I also wanted to send a giant thank you to Bear Mountain Lodge in Silver City!  We stayed there last night after seeing a bit of historic downtown Silver City-  a really pretty and artsy town in Western NM.  I stopped in at a second-hand store and found a running treasure-  a old old olllld Nike windbreaker, which I purchased for $1.50.  Pretty sweet :  )  it will be featured in many photos to come….

All right, way past my bedtime now!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Something happens to me out there…”

  1. Hey Z,
    thanks for inspiring me to run every day. You are right, I always feel great afterwards no matter how I felt when I started. Hope you won’t be too famous to run a few miles with me when I finally get back stateside. Where will u be in may?
    hugs kisses sunshine peace and love

Leave a Reply

