Happiness Avenue

I ran by a street sign today that said Happiness Avenue and all I could think was how perfect it was!  It gave me a huge smile, it’s amazing how those little things can unexpectedly make your day.  I took a photo to post here but my phone decided to act up and erase it! Horrible!

Anywaym today was awesome. And a liiittttle hard at the end. The weather was beautiful again, not a cloud in the sky.  It finally warmed up though, and I could definitely tell that my body took a while to adjust to the sudden change in temps.  I felt like I drank about three times as much as yesterday and I still felt nauseous with dehydration from mile 15 on.  I also had this thought today when I started that I wanted to run today’s run like a marathon and not stop to stretch or eat or anything. I started out fast and I guess I felt like racing.  Anyway that lasted til a bit past halfway and then I had to refill my Camelbak and then stop 3 more times for water and fruit and by the end of the day my legs were sooore and I was cursing myself for not stopping to stretch every 6 miles like normal.  I also felt like a big baby because before all this I had no problem setting out to run 20 or so miles without stopping.  Now I notice right away if I get lazy with my stretching.  Am I getting old or something?!

I also had a wonderful experience with a giant scary pitbull today. He came running out at me barking like he wanted to eat my head for lunch, and when he was about 5 feet away I knelt down like I was going to pet him.  He turned right around and just ran back to where he came from.  Weird.  My heart was jumping out of my chest but it definitely gave me some self-confidence for the next dog encounter.  Which just happened to be 3 miles down the road, Haha.  Same exact thing happened, I did the same, and the dog ran away. Hmm…

So I finished the day with 26 sunshiney miles and a really attractive runners tan complete with a white sunglass outline around my eyes.  Woowee.  I’ve reached Las Cruces, NM and now I get a mini-vacation! I am giving myself 3 days free of running and full of other outdoor adventures.  It seems there is so much to do in this area that I think we will be very busy.  I can’t wait to go exploring :  )

Tonight we are being hosted by the very kind Cheryl and Matteo, mutual friends of a fellow transcontinental trekker.  They cooked a delicious meal and they are also runners so we shared a lot of nerdy running stories and obsessions.  And Cheryl gave me some sweet sweet sweet technical running shirts with the moisture-wicking fabric etc.  She also has a lot of experience in the running world; she’s worked at a couple running stores, done interviews with running stars and has lots of runner hotshot friends.  So it was really cool to hear her stories and share running tips with her :  )

So that’s it for today!  Can’t wait to go see some more cool things tomorrow :  )

By Zoë

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 comments

  1. Zoe, you make it look so easy. I love your spirit. Happiness Avenue says it all. !Que tengas un buen viaje todos los dias!

  2. Zoe it was so great to meet you and Alex. Let me know if you need anything else while you are here in town. George Throop also sent me a message regarding dinner for all of us later this week if you guys are down. Let me know! And I hope you enjoyed White Sands!

  3. Every Town should have a Happiness Avenue …every town a Love Street and every town a Peace Road !!

    Run them all Sparky !! Big Love , dad xoxoxo

    Run , Pray , Love !

  4. Nice to meet you today at White Sands…best wishes on your adventure! It sounded like you have Texas lined up, but I could get you places in Dallas, Fort Worth, and surrounding area, Austin, Bastrop, Alpine, Houston, and Boerne. In MS, I could probably find you a place in Jackson or Starkville and in Florida, perhaps Destin. Tell Alex it was the Rhine Valley that I loved so much (or at least I think that sounds right). I will put a link to your blog on my blogroll. Would love it if you linked to mine. Beth (http://adventuresofacouchsurfer.wordpress.com)

Leave a comment