My parents are here!

image

image

Today my parents arrived!!  I was sad to say goodbye to my friend, but I am so happy I get to share this adventure with my parents now :  )

After I met them at the airport, we went straight to the bike store to get their bicycles reassembled so that they can ride alongside me for the next 10 days.  After that we went to the running store, Up and Running, in El Paso, TX.  My shoes are beyond worn and I haven’t been able to find a running store that carries them since Phoenix. 

The owner Chris, and Aleck, were super helpful and excited to hear what I was doing.  After we told Chris about it, he had me autograph a Tshirt to hang on the wall-  I felt like a rockstar again :  )  I picked up two pairs and I was a bit sad to see that the new edition is Pink. Eck. Bright pink. Not my favorite color but I’m sure I’ll get them dirty soon enough!

Tomorrow starts my normal routine up again after taking a few days off and staying up way past my bedtime having different adventures.  Each night we stayed at the Baylor Pass trailhead in Las Cruces, so every morning I got up and ran the trail to the top which was a woooonderful treat after being such a slave to the pavement.  I am also hoping that it helped me get a bit adjusted to the altitude because tomorrow I have a long long uphill journey.  Woooweee!!

The were two other really exciting things that happened today. 1. I found a flavor of Clif Shot Bloks that I’ve never tried-  Margarita :  )  and 2. I bought a 2nd pair of my new favorite socks, made by Defeet. I think they customize their socks for different running stores and this pair of socks happens to include the Texas state flag and has “Don’t Mess With Texas” embroidered on the sole. Sweet.

PS don’t these photos look like snow?! It’s actually sand, taken at the White Sands National Monument.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “My parents are here!”

  1. Have fun with Mum and Dad. Wish i was there…have a Margarita shot block for me and imagine calimochos and stolen cheese;) xoxox

Leave a Reply

