Kids are incredible

image

image

image

image

image

Today started off pretty tough and ended wonderfully :  )  it was my first day back after a couple days rest and I always get this silly feeling after taking more than one rest day, I imagine that my legs are going to forget how to run or something.  I think lots of runners must share that same thought even though it’s crazy.

So the first few miles were hard because I was getting shin splints and the road literally went straight up a mountain. But after 5 miles up, I had nearly 10 miles of gradual downhill….it was awesome.  It was also great having my parents meet me along the way on their bikes and help push me along.  Seeing them on their bicycles made me miss mine!

I finished up earlier than I have since my second day, which also felt nice.  We thought we would give the BGClub here in Las Cruces a call and just see if maybe I could stop by and visit the kids. It was such short notice and yet the staff was so enthusiastic and said that yes they would love it if we stopped by!  Ten minutes later I was in the club and talking with the kids.  I have to admit I get a little nervous every time I visit a club, and everytime I am again just overwhelmed with happy energy from the kids….today they were so inquisitive and excited and wanted to race me again and again and again.  I admire their endless energy.  So after getting beat by every single last one of the kids at the club, we played some basketball and my parents played too.  All just so positive and encouraging….really every time I visit a club it’s like a shot of adrenaline and motivation to keep running.

Now we just enjoyed a deeeelicious feast prepared by Rosie from the Casa de Rosie in Mesilla.  She has been so kind and offered to host us for the night and the place is amazing.  I really can’t believe how many positive experiences I’ve had on this trip and how nice people are. Wow.

The pictures are first from the climb up and then the lovely downhill afterwards.  Finished the day with 25 miles. On towards Alamogordo tomorrow!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Kids are incredible”

  1. Hi, I hope that you plan on writing a book. Well, two books. One for kids and one for adults. Part of the proceeds to the B and G Clubs. You write so well. It’s time to contact some publishers and also get some national attention, like the Today Show or something. You are a “Rock Star”! Love ya” Hi to Mom and Dad. Cheryl saw the boys out walking Lola yesterday.

Leave a Reply

