The Mighty Mountains

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Today was so beautiful I didn’t know what to do with myself.  Stop every minute to take pictures? Store it all in my brain? Dance my way down the mountain?

I still don’t know what to do. My dad just asked me what I think about while I run, where my mind goes? Sometimes, I have amazing brainstorms or work out difficult personal challenges, or dissolve negative emotions. Those are the “thinking” runs. But most of the time, my mind goes nowhere. It does nothing, has no thoughts. It’s just there, my body is there, but my mind might as well not be. I think those are my favorite days. At most, I’ll think of the next mile, maybe the next stop, but never the end.  That’s one of the great parts of athletics, no? When you’re out testing your physical and mental toughness, you are really in the moment. No tomorrows, no engagements next weekend, nothing. Just here and now!

Detail-wise I had about 19 miles uphill today finished up by 6 miles downhill. I was running through paradise. Mountains all around me, blanketed by green pine trees and speckled with snow, a lovely and unexpected reminder of my childhood in Maine. Running uphill is probably nobody’s favorite thing but all I can say is that there is absolutely NOTHING like finally reaching the summit and heading on towards the next peak in the distance. Nothing. I know a lot of active, adventure-seeking spirits keep up with this blog, so please, I would like to hear what gives you that feeling. what makes you feel bursting with life?

It’s a love affair I’ve got going on with running, but I think my next adventure may be finding another activity which also surrounds my spirit with that feeling of freedom, of really living.

I also wanted to mention a very sweet email that I got from Kathy Jewett today. Kathy is the computer teacher at Lyseth, where I went to Elementary School. She’s got a board set up in the classroom-  “Where in the World is Zoe Romano”, tracking the run and the stories from the road.  She’s shared such nice stories about her students, and I can just imagine them checking out the map, looking at photos, and dreaming up their own dreams.  I hope that some of them get to read this post because it’s the best way I can tell them Thank You for being interested and enthusiastic about my run. You have no idea how much it helps push me along, mile by mile. I would love to hear about each of your dreams, what you want to be and do when you grow up. If you have time in computer class, see if Mrs. Jewett could help you out with sending me an email (zoeromano@gmail.com) or leaving a comment on the blog.

And thank you as well to everyone who writes to me, helps motivate me, and shares their own stories.  I love hearing them :  )

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

Leave a Reply

