All is well in Roswell

image

image

image

image

image

I am sleepy! Wowweee! I made it to just outside Roswell, NM, and tomorrow is a rest day so I get to check out this eerie UFO town.  I actually know nothing about it aside from watching a few episodes of the very accurate and 100% true television show entitled “Roswell” (joking) so I am curious to check it out!  Aside from vagabonding tomorrow, I also get to meet with the Boys&  Girls Club here in Roswell, and the local press will be there too.  Guess I should take a shower tonight then ;  )

This week seemed to fly by, probably because my parents are here and we are having such a good time, but I think also because my body is really starting to get used to the routine. I ran 25 miles each day this week, and I wish I had used my PN-60 GPS to track the total elevation gain. I just found out that’s one of the features on the GPS, so I will definitely be using that soon!  In any case I definitely had the most mountainous week so far. But absolutely gorgeous. Wow.

One thing that continues to amaze me is that there is still so much open land out there. Being from the East Coast, I could not have imagined that such vast expanses of unsettled land still exist. Most of what I’ve seen is bordered by small barbed wire fences, so I assume the land belongs to cattle ranchers, but still it’s incredible.  Another neat thing I was thinking about is that I don’t think I’ve been below 4,000 ft since the 3rd or 4th day. That’s pretty cool.

Getting back to today for a second, it was actually sorta a day of torture. Well actually it started out SO sweetly…Shayna from the Tinnie Silver Dollar Inn hosted us last night and this morning she sent us off with a goody bag of tshirts and wine glasses…so so sweet of her.  I cant believe how many kind people Ive met along the way already.  Can’t wait to celebrate the finish in June with those wine glasses :  )

So after that, the torture began. Well not really but here’s what happened: yesterday about 100 yards from finishing I felt a sharp pull and seemed to strain my hamstring a bit. It seemed fine but today as soon as I would start running, it would act up. So I kept pushing on it but eventually decided hey I really really don’t want to pull my hamstring and lose a couple days. So I ended up walking the ENTIRE TIME. I can see how that may seem like an easy day or a” break” but let me say that it was true misery.  When you are used to running and then suddenly realize you’ll have to walk the whole 25 miles, it is incredibly tedious. I mean I like walking but…I love running.

And I kept trying every mile marker to run on it and see if it hurt because usually any little pains work themselves out if I walk and stretch for a couple miles. Not the case with this hamstring. I even made a makeshift brace with my bandana.

So, today I learned what it felt like to go from flying through the miles in 5 hours, to very tediously walking them in 8.  Every experience is valuable and this certainly helped challenge my resolve, but I don’t think I’ll remember this day as my favorite!

Other than that it was a wonderful week, hit 25 miles everyday for a total of 150 miles in 6 days, and saw some AMAZING sights. And, I got to share it all with my parents! 

Thank you again to Shayna, Doug, Rosie, Bill and Britt! Your kindness is incredible : )

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

3 thoughts on “All is well in Roswell”

  1. Zoe, Hope things are good. PHS is so proud of you. How many times have you played I Feel Home on your ipod during these days. Certasinly would be an appropriate choose. Mike

  2. Seconding that, can’t wait to celebrate!!
    Saw a quote today and it reminded me of you. Ok I didn’t ‘see’ it, I found it. Inside my honest tea bottle… Oh well. Here it is ” To dare is to lose one’s footing momentarily. Not to dare is to lose oneself.” Keep on daring Z! So proud of you!!!
    Xo
    Em

Leave a Reply

