Boys & Girls Club in Roswell

Wow. I just came from the Boys&  Girls Club here in Roswell, NM. I am just blown away. You know, every time I go to a club I get a little bit nervous. Plus this time the local newspaper was also there.  But every time I leave a club, I am just overwhelmed with love and such positive perspectives of these kids.

The Roswell crew was outstanding. They sat still and listened while I spoke, they enthusiastically shared their own dreams with me, and they asked thoughtful questions.  And their energy! It makes 25 miles a day look like nothing! After talking to them and showing them my stroller and running gear, we headed outside and played soccer. So much fun. I’ve played soccer all my life and haven’t played since this past autumn, so it was awesome to kick the ball around a bit :  )  There was one boy Greg who told me he wanted to be a pro soccer player, so I showed him how to nutmeg other players and told him he oughta perfect the move so he can embarrass his opponents with it :  )  When I left the club later on, he came running out and gave me a hug goodbye. All I can say is that I can tell he’s going places.

And I also have to say, what an INCREDIBLE staff!!  Very kind and thoughtful, and constructive with their leadership.  I am really impressed and thankful that I got to feature in their day for a couple hours.  The parents were also very supportive and enthusiastic, and one mom in particular, Miss Christine (the one in the photo), was very helpful and so excited about the run and wanting to help out in any way she could. Thank you Christine! 

So, a wonderful rest day, again full of everything except actually resting ;  )  but I can never turn down a challenge to a soccer match! And now my legs are all stretched out for tomorrow…

If anyone wants to check out the article, it will be in the Roswell Daily Record tomorrow, or you can view it at http://www.rdrnews.com

By Zoë

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

2 comments

Leave a comment