Awesomeness

image

image

image

image

image

image

Today was pretty magnificently lazy. What a treat! I slept in, and then vegged for most of the day. The joy of just sitting is far underrated. I also have awesome news, today the blog had over 500 visitors! A new record! Woowee :  )  thank you to everyone who is helping me spread the word, and to the different running websites helping the cause by linking to my blog.

This evening I had the wonderful opportunity to attend the Lubbock BGClub annual fundraiser.  I got to meet a lot of the board members and staff, and hang out with some kids, so it was pretty sweet. Plus I got a free dinner, so I can’t complain! I also got to hear the Texas Tech football coach speak, as well as the Lubbock Boys and Girls Club Youth of the Year.  His speech really hit a chord with me because it just totally reminded me once again why I am doing this and how much of an impact the clubs have on so many children.

Tomorrow I’ll also be stopping by one of the branches to talk to the kids and challenge them to some laps around the field! Even though they always kill me…

After the fundraiser, Jim and Mia (my very wonderful hosts) took me around Lubbock to see Texas Tech and some of the sights. It is a really nice city, with lovely weather, as far as I’ve seen.  I included some photos from the evening.

So tomorrow I’ll be on the road again, heading to Idalou, about 25 miles.  I hope that Mia and Jim and Seth and Autumn get a chance to read this, because I can’t tell them enough how much I appreciate their hospitality. Again I am just overwhelmed by how kind people are. 

Well that’s it for tonight. Goodnight!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

2 thoughts on “Awesomeness”

  1. To Mia , Jim, Seth and Autumn and all the fantastic caring and generous folks of California , Arizona , New Mexico and Texas …A GREAT BIG THANK YOU from Rick and Jina Romano !!

    And to Zoë a great big WE LOVE YOU , safe travels ahead and happy running too !

    Rock On , Dad xoxo

  2. Zoe, I am excited to get to meet you and feel so Blessed to get to share our home with you tonight. Mia has said great things about you and happy that you got to spend some time with such an AMAZING Family, they are such a Blessing and was happy to hear that they showed you around our great city. I hope you got some rest and weill see you this afternoon.

    happy running Rock Star!

Leave a Reply

