More construction

Another lovely day :  )  it started out quite well, a bit windy and cooler than yesterday. About halfway through I hit some major construction which was pretty frustrating.  I took my stroller off-roading and finally got back to a normal route for the last 7 miles.  I finished with about 26 miles and enjoyed a nice Popsicle in the sunshine at the end.  Perfect!

After running I stopped by the Lubbock Boys and Girls Club and talked to the kids there.  Like always I was energized by their enthusiasm and curiosity.  It’s always interesting to hear the questions they ask- what happens if my food runs out, how do I use the restroom, do I sleep?  Another local runner from the Western Texas Running Club was there talking to the kids about registering for an upcoming race to benefit the local food bank. Hopefully together we motivated some kids to sign up!!

Now I’m sitting here icing and falling asleep. Sometimes it seems like the hardest part of the day is getting ready for bed- icing, massaging with icy hot,stretching, making sure everything is charged and ready for tomorrow.  My body is just ready to fall into bed!

On that note I believe it’s time to get the night routine started. Everyone have a good weekend!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “More construction”

  1. Hey Sparky …wish I was on the road with the construction workers …just like back home …I’d get to see you run by my workplace !

    Your posts are so well written , I actually was yawning while reading it …sleeeeeepy . I got the feeling you were expressing ; if I could only take away the sore legs , muscles and blisters .

    Hope today was a better run , that the weather warms , good tunes prevail and you have continued happy episodes with your run on the open roads !

    Amor del carruaje, Papá xoxox

Leave a Reply

