Humidity?!

image

image

image

image

image

Today was another great day to be a runner. Weird weather though! I was running along, thinking something felt a bit off, and then I realized- there was absolutely NO breeze, and it was humid!!  I know that’s not anything breathtaking but I haven’t experienced any semblance of humidity since my second or third day, and it’s been consistently windy since the middle of New Mexico. So the still air and the humidity were the definitive markers of today.  I even had flies buzzing around me!! Literally haven’t seen a fly for weeks and weeks.

Tomorrow the wind is supposed to pick up to 50 mph gusts, with the sustained wind around 30 mph I think.  Today I ran through field after field that had been left charred by all the wildfires the area experienced during the windstorms ten days ago.  I only made it about 5 miles in that last storm before I had to stop because of the tumbleweed, but tomorrow I think the possibility of wildfires and lightning will be the biggest concern.  Im going to wait and see what it’s like in the morning.

The run today was fairly uneventful except for towards the end when 20+ cattle started trotting alongside me for a good half-mile.  I’ve been told time and time again that they wont get on the other side of the fence, but when you’re out on your own and you have 30 giant cows running towards you and your only measure of defense is the tiny fence that separates you from them, it is a bit scary! And I’m from Maine, where our cows are so docile that we can go tip them over for fun on Saturday nights. So today I got out my airhorn and had it all prepared just in case one of the cows decided he wanted to cross the fence and eat me for supper. I felt like a big baby, but at least a better-prepared baby.

One of the best parts of today was actually playing with the 4 year-old boy whose house I’m staying at.  He has an absolutely incredible imagination…we played in boxes all evening, designated as different agricultural trucks and trailers, then had a gun fight with his little sister and Spencer.  Spencer’s a ranch hand who came down from Utah to work on a Texas ranch, and found himself working and living here at the ranch I’m staying at.  I thought that was pretty neat…it is really interesting to get a window into this lifestyle and hear the history of the great Texas ranches.

I attached some photos of Henry, the little boy, and downtown Spur, where I started out today.  For distance it was 30 miles, 5 miles north of Spur into Dayton, TX.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

5 thoughts on “Humidity?!”

  1. It seems like you are running more and more miles every day. Are you getting in even better shape? Do you think by the end of it you would be able to run 50 miles? I’ve heard that when training for a marathon you shouldn’t run the full mileage until race day. Does that mean that you are, technically, training for a much longer event?
    Peace, love and happy thoughts;)

  2. Hey there Sparky ( now that’s a fine Texas Rancher Name ! )

    Big Day today !! 2 , yes folks that’s right 2 !! months of running …California , Arizona , New Mexico and now Texas .

    Congratulations on all the ground you’ve covered , the hills climbed , the dogs warded off , the dust storms conquered , the cattle curiosities and the nearly 1,200 miles = 46 Marathons = 386 5K Races behind you !! All in 60 days !

    Absolutely Amazing …you are our Super Hero and if you look carefully , behind you are hundreds of friends and family sending good running vibes .
    Have a happy day , the start of Month #3 and one day closer to Charleston, SC .

    Your #1 Fan , Dad xoxox

  3. Flies, huh? Think that means its time for a shower there buddy!! 🙂
    This was my favorite blog yet! The tent, err I mean Tepee pictures are awesome! Sounds like you have had quite a lot of adventure these days :-). Miss you, be safe,
    Em

  4. Dearest Sparky
    Just want to make sure it’s clear- I’m your #1 fan always have been always will be. I’ll straighten dad out!! I’ll admit he is right about the Super Hero stuff. We love you to pieces oxoxo mom As always be safe & God go with you

    1. Alright , Already ….Mom and Dad are your #1A & 1B Fans !!!

      Always have been ….always will be . I think I’ll straighten Mom out on that one !

      Run On , Dad ( sshhh your #1 Fan )

Leave a Reply

