Laurie and Zoe go running ; )

image

image

I had another runner with me today! The wonderful Laurie from Haskell ran just under 30 miles with me! I was so excited for her and happy that I had a companion- it was about a 33 mile day today and having Laurie there made it go by much much faster.  We talked about so many things and it worked out so well because I really don’t think you can run 30 miles comfortably with just anyone.  So thank you Laurie you made today much more fun :  )

I arrived at my next stop, Throckmorton, around 4, not bad time for 33 miles.  I am staying at a hunter’s lodge and wow is it neat. Enormous horns on the walls, antlers everywhere, everything made out of beautiful wood.  I can’t believe I get to stay at all these places. I was looking for bowls in the kitchen and noticed one of those big freezers people keep in their garages sometimes.  The bottom was layered in blood-spattered newspaper, left behind by the last hunters no doubt.

I went to the gas station down the street and got a bag of tortillas and Gatorade for dinner, mmh mmh. I swear when I get home I think I’ll eat everything on a tortilla- peanut butter and jelly, nutella, black beans and rice, and my new favorite way- hot tortillas fresh out of the pan, rolled up with butter melted inside. I have to thank Renee for enlightening me with that tortilla technique :  )

Now I’ve just been catching up on some journal writing. I’ve decided I really do want to write a book about all this, and so much stuff happens each day that it’s hard to keep track. My journal writing is transforming into lots of shorthand, lists, and quotes from people I’ve met.  I can’t wait to see how it all comes together!

And I also wanted to say hi to Ken, the coolest guy I’ve met in Texas. Thanks for being so curious and asking so many questions :  )

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 thoughts on “Laurie and Zoe go running ; )”

  1. Wow Sparky …33 Miles , a running companion , a hunters lodge and totillas with war butter !!

    Livin the life !!!

    Remember to write about all you see , hear , taste , smell and feel …fill it with emotion , compassion and without doubt interest !

    I love you beyond words and my mind is consumed with thoughts of you , your day , the road in front of you and with sending you a good vibe !

    Run , write , live …Dad xoxoxox

  2. hi miss Zoe..sorry i have not had a chance to catch up on your blog in a few days..so after a full day of work at both jobs and working on some stuff i decited to catch up on your travels…i love the tortillas i have been reading about..and everytime i eat a tortilla with butter i do it in honor of you!! i am so happy to hear that your travels are going well and you countiune to meet amazing people and best of all that they get the blessing of meeting you such an amazing young lady..miss zoe..i wish you safe travels!! keep the post coming and cheers to tortillas!! & DQ!!

Leave a Reply

