Visit with Haskell Elementary

image

Today was pretty cool. It was a rest day which is always good and bad. Good because I get to sleep in, be lazy, and stay horizontal for quite a bit longer than normal. But rest days also always make me feel a bit off, because I’m so used to being outside all day long moving around, and when I don’t get that, or have the mileage goal for the day, I get to feeling sort of purposeless.  But today I went to visit the local school and talk to the kids, so that was pretty cool and a nice boost of inspiration :  )

The kids were awesome. It is always interesting to hear what they have to ask, and I have to say that this group was exceptional in the quality of their questions. They asked what my parents thought about the run, if I ever got scared on the road, how I trained for it, why I chose the Boys and Girls Clubs and what the Club does. They don’t have one here and during the talk, the City Manager (who happened to be at the school today) stood up and asked how many kids wished there was a club in their town. Everyone’s hands went up. He went on to suggest that they talk to their teachers, parents, coaches, and lay out the reasons why they want and need a youth center in their town.  I was really impressed with what he had to say and how enthusiastically the students responded.  Like he said, it all starts with a conversation. If you want to do something, you just gotta get the idea out there, start talking to people about it, and your path will start to unwind from there.

Now I am just stretching and getting ready to start the week again. Felt a bit sick today but I took a few Zicam and I think it helped. I just had a delicious Texas style dinner and wonderful dinner-table conversation with the Wallace’s (my hosts in Haskell) that much reminded me of my own family. Lively, loud, funny, full of smiles.  I’m so lucky to meet so many kind people!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

3 thoughts on “Visit with Haskell Elementary”

  1. Hey Z …your writing continues to engross me , the words flow and I always feel like I am right there with you …just the way it should be .

    The Cowboy Code is spot on …we should all be Cowboys !

    Thank you to the Wallace Family , especially for dinner around a lively table …home is where the heart is … Jina and I are thankful for sharing your home and opening your hearts to Zoë.

    Sparky are an inspiration to so many children and your journey of goodwill makes me one very proud Cowboy Dad !

    Ride on , Dad xoxox

  2. Hey Z …your writing continues to engross me , the words flow and I always feel like I am right there with you …just the way it should be .

    The Cowboy Code is spot on …we should all be Cowboys !

    Thank you to the Wallace Family , especially for dinner around a lively table …home is where the heart is … Jina and I are thankful for sharing your home and opening your hearts to Zoë.

    Sparky are an inspiration to so many children and your journey of goodwill makes me one very proud Cowboy Dad !

    Ride on , Dad xoxox

  3. What a joy it is to read of you adventure every morning. You are an inspiration to us all. It reminds me so much of the way I like to travel and to see the way the real people live and talk to them about their lives. The physical part, however, is what blows my mind. You are succeeding at doing the impossible!!

Leave a Reply

