Is there a baby in that thing?

image

image

image

I get asked this everyday. Each and every time I stop and explain…”Nope, no baby on board. Just my extra gear and clothes and stuff” I was thinking today…that is a really vague explanation of all the stuff I’ve got in there. “Extra gear”. Well, exactly what kind of gear do you bring on a trip like this? And how do you squeeze it all into a stroller? So here’s a better explanation of what I push around all day:

1. Clothes:
2 pairs of running tights
1 pair of warm-up pants
3 moisture-wicking tees
2 tank tops
2 moisture-wicking long sleeves
1 insulated cold-weather thermal long-sleeve
3 pairs socks
3 sports bras
1 sweatshirt
2 cotton long-sleeves
2 cotton tees
1 outer shell wind/rain jacket (Millet)
1 soft shell jacket (LL Bean)
1 light rain jacket (Millet)
Spare pair of shoes (Adidas Supernova Glides)

2. “Gear”
Tent
Sleeping bag (LL Bean)
CamelBak
Water Filter

3. Safety
Pepper Spray
Signal mirror
Whistle and compass
Petzel Headlamp
Farming hook tool
DeLorme Earthmate GPS and SPOT Satellite Communicator
Dog treats
Heat blanket
Instant Water Purifier Pills
First Aid Kit (Adventure Medical Kits)

4. Electronics
Phone
MP3 player
Chargers
Spare batteries and Uses

5. Stroller maintenance
Bike repair kit
Spare tubes
Pump
3-in-1 Oil
Bike wrench
Duct tape

6. For Fun
Journal
2 books
Camera

7. Miscellaneous
Sunscreen
Bengay
Clothesline
Ankle straps and braces
Maps
Small towel
Airhorn
Icepacks
Nalgene
Zicam (one of the best decisions of the trip)
Energy bars, gels, food (currently a bag of tortillas and a banana)
Wind-up flashlight

I am sure I’m missing quite a few things, as I’m making this list from memory rather than actually looking through the stroller. When I list it out like that it’s hard to imagine it all fits so nicely into my stroller. Im hoping to lighten my load soon when I reach the Dallas area.  Maybe ship a box home of things I don’t think I need. Although this is probably the most accurate packing I’ve ever done for a trip!  Anyway I thought it might be interesting to see what all was actually in the stroller, because it was definitely a big part of the preparation, deciding what I’d need and what I could leave behind. If I think of anything big that I forgot I’ll post it tomorrow.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Is there a baby in that thing?”

  1. Jeez Z that’s a lot of stuff!! I think of you always but didn’t read your post and got to have a double day today! Yipee! Sounds like you had a lot of fun on your buddy run!
    You are always an inspiration. Keep up the good work. (And I can help if you need spelling options for the title of your book!)
    Xo Em

Leave a Reply

