Texas hospitality

image

image

So even though it’s theoretically only 8:38 pm, I am exhausted.  I had the easiest day yet today, just 13 miles. And yet I am still falling asleep with my eyes open.

Today was an interesting day, even if it was short. First, on the drive to Newcastle (where I finished yesterday) my friend’s cropduster buddy flew right over us in his plane. Literally right over us as we were driving down the highway. Then he turned around and headed straight back towards us.  I’m not gonna lie, I was scared for a very long 5 seconds that he was going to crash right into us. But he cut up over us with just enough space to spare, and then scooted back off to work spraying the fields a few miles north. It was definitely a sweet way to start the day.

Next thing, I’m running out of Newcastle and I see 3 big dogs at a house up ahead. I check it out, they’re behind a fence, no problem. Well as I pass the house, a 4th dog comes up from outside the fence and charges at me. I slow down, put the stroller between us, kneel down like I’m going to pet him. No luck, he keeps coming at me.  Just in time, a mystery truck-driver slams on his breaks, throws his truck in reverse, and backs up nearly on top of the dog, to scare him off.  It works, the dog runs away, the truckdriver waves at me and drives off. Thank you mystery man.

Few miles down the road. A woman stops up ahead, gets out, and walks over to talk to me. She asks me if I’m hungry. She’s heard about me running through here, and she’s just made a big old pot of spaghetti, and if I would like, she will run me back to her house for lunch, and then bring me back.  What an offer! I had just eaten some tortillas though and was just getting into the flow, so I politely declined, but still! What hospitality!

Ok, now I’m finally getting into Graham. I see the welcome signs, cross over Graham Lake, am taking a water break before coming into town and figuring out where to go. Up ahead, the Sheriff pulls over and rolls on up to me, window down.  I was expecting the Sheriff to ask if I needed any help, and was amused and surprised when he said “Hey I saw you this morning in Newcastle, what are you slowing down now?! Don’t slow down!”  I had a good laugh about this. Here I am expecting sympathy from the Sheriff and instead he’s hassling me about taking a break. You better believe I got right to running after he drove off. 

All those incidents made for a very interesting run. Hope tomorrow’s 28 miles to Jacksboro will be equally entertaining. Now it’s time for bed in the cozy house of my hosts in Graham. Thank you Deanne and Greg :  )

PS check out how the landscape is changing in the photos. Today I saw trees and trees and trees, hills, a turtle, and Graham Lake, the largest body of water I’ve laid eyes on since January.  Pretty neat to see the land change 25 miles at a time.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 thoughts on “Texas hospitality”

  1. Hey Zoe…you did have quite a day my friend. I am still trying to get over the whole airplane thing myself…that was just way too cool. I am sad to see you go but maybe we can catch up on the road again. I’d love to run another day with you! Definitely see ya at the finish line.
    If you need a place to stay in Bridgeport let me know! Anywhere in the Denton area is close enough to my old stomping grounds.
    ~Brown Eyes (lol)

  2. And the beat goes on …airplanes , turtles , sheriffs and mystery chefs !

    One thing is for sure …TEXAS = HOSPITALITY !!

    Thanks to Deanne and Greg for giving Zoë a little love …when in Maine , come see us !

    Unlike the Turtle …Run Z , Run ! Hugs , Dad xoxoxo

  3. Great writing! Great adventure. Aren’t people just wonderful?!

    Love to you Z, UM.

    Go as slow or as fast as you would like.

Leave a Reply

