March 16

image

image

image

image

Today’s run was one of the hardest and most miserable runs I’ve ever put my feet through.  It was only 18 miles but it was 18 miles of hills and wind and rocks being scattered against my body as truck after truck zoomed by me in a hurry to get their load of limestone delivered. I really wish someone could’ve filmed this diamond of a run today. I just imagine that I looked like an itty bitty fish in a whirlpool.  Let me set the scene so that I can get to the more positive part of the day:

The highway I ran on runs from Denton to Bridgeport, TX. There are large rock quarries nearby which supply the area with its number one money-maker: limestone. Semi trucks line up at the quarries to get their load of limestone piled on and then they head off to deliver it. They proceed onto the highway and inevitably end up forming lines and lines of semis hurtling down the road.  As they fly their way past you, they throw little rocks everywhere, hitting you in the shin, on your sunglasses, getting in your shoes. Your tongue is dry with limestone dust and your lungs aren’t exactly celebrating.  With every truck that goes by, a fresh wall of wind crashes against you, bringing you almost to a standstill.  Add to this route a healthy dose of hills, 30 mph winds aside from the trucks’ gusts, and just to stir things up, 20 miles of construction.  It was a bit of a challenge. But hey, I’m still running across the country, and that’s exactly what I want to be doing right now. So even I had 18 horrible miles today, it was still pretty great.

Ok, enough complaining. Before running I had a very busy morning. I attended a city meeting in Runaway Bay and spoke a bit about what I was doing and handed out some business cards. I had my fundraiser face on. Then I traded that in for my fun face, as I took off with Pilot Linda for an aerial cruise around the county in her two-seater airplane!  It was awesome. I have never flown over my route before getting to run it!  I also saw all the quarries from 3,000 feet up and that was spectacular. And, of course, Linda let me fly the plane for a bit. I was a little bit of a scaredy cat about that though.

After flying around town and landing in one piece, I had the honor of attending the local Lions Club meeting and sharing my adventure and fundraising goals with the members. I am hoping the events today will help garner some local support for the Boys and Girls Clubs!

After finishing the run, I was interviewed by the Decatur Messenger, the story will run on Saturday. They had also sent out a photographer to shoot me while I was running through their town, so that was pretty neat to have a newspaper trailing me for a bit!

And now I am in bed icing and trying to keep my eyes open. I just wanted to thank everyone for their donations and other contributions. I apologize to everyone to whom I haven’t been able to thank personally, it is really hard to do while I am on the road.  But please know that your contributions mean so much to me and are definitely helping to reach that $25,000 goal!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

7 thoughts on “March 16”

  1. Hey Zoe…just want to tell you that I check on you and your journey every night. I’m sorry today was so hard. I think about you everyday! You are an inspiration and I’m so glad we got to meet you and so glad you stayed with us. Stay strong and know we love ya. Mark says, “hi!”

  2. I have been waiting to say this but I think it’s time …

    ” How’s it going Forest ??”

    Life sure is a box of Chocolates !! And Sparky you’re eating the entire box !!

    Gump On , Dad xoxoxox

  3. You continue to amaze us! We are proud of you!! You can find the good no matter what! I have cousins travelling close by today. They are watching for you. You are close to your rest. Go, Zoe! Love you much! Greg & D’Anne

  4. Hello Zoe

    I’m keeping tabs on you’re progress and for good reason. I’m planning a similar run here in Ireland on or before 2015 depending how training goes and I’m preparing at the moment. You are an inspiration and I wish you the best in you’re endeavour. I’d love to hear more about you preparation leading up to the start.

    Larry

    1. Hey Larry ….how about a trans world run ..across the globe , around the world , spanning continents and touching the lives of all !

      Thanks for following Zoë’s run . Her proud Dad !!!

Leave a Reply

