I’ve crossed half the country on my own two feet

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Well, I can’t believe it, I’m actually halfway across the country. I remember when I first started planning this and I found out about another runner who had run a similar route. I was looking at his blog and happened to see a video he made when he crossed his halfway point. At the time it seemed like my own halfway point was impossibly far away. Even just the starting line seemed so far away, as I worked on the preparations day after day. Mapping the route, calling local companies, fundraising, training, evaluating gear. Now I’m halfway done and of course all that feels like a dream that I had just last night. Now I’ve only got 2 1/2 more months of the paradise that I’m living daily.

It’s been amazing so far and I don’t want it to end. I’ve run through pastures, oil fields, acres of cotton plants, mountains, desert, mining towns, giant metroplexes, places where the wild wild west seems to still exist in the citizens’ pioneer attitudes. As I came into Bridgeport a few days ago, I began to realize I was leaving small-town Texas behind. I was hit with waves of traffic, a Walmart Supercenter, traffic lights and crosswalks. I went on to pass through Decatur and onto Denton, a city that I would consider a suburb of Dallas.

As I ran into Denton on hwy 380, flanked on all sides by various gas stations, traffic lights, covered overhead by interstate 35 overpasses and exit ramps, I was temporarily consumed with shock and apprehension. This was state highway 380, MY highway, a small red line that has taken me from the start of Texas to where I now stood. Highway 380, where I had been graced with wide, flat shoulders, and traffic so rare that I could have run in the middle of the street. I stood for a while at the intersection with I-35 and said my goodbyes to the small-town Texas I had become familiar with. I bid farewell to the American Southwest, the dry deserts, the old mining towns, the monster mountains.

Here in Denton there were trees, squirrels, flowers. It was humid. There was exhaust in the air, but there was also that cosmopolitan energy of a beautiful spring day at the end of the week, and all the lively social events that could occur that weekend. My halfway mark seemed to fall, coincidentally, on a cross-roads of American cultures, landscapes, and traffic patterns.

I regained composure and moved on. The shoulders disappeared and I ran on the grass for a few miles, knowing I’d reach the city limits in a few more miles, and hopefully be again treated to a wider road.  The sounds and activities of a big city can be overwhelming at first: the blinking lights, the car crash I saw at my 3rd stop light, navigating sporadic sidewalks. But it’s all part of it, of us. We built these things and presumably we use them, so it’s hard to pretend they are useless nuisances.

On this trip I have far more enjoyed the small towns, for both the ease of navigation through them, and the quality of visits I’ve had there. But I’m still not sure if that’s because it’s just easier to orientate yourself in one day a town of 1,000 then it is in a town of 1,000,000.  Small towns mask their problems very well, whereas big cities seem to advertise them.  The New Yorks and Miamis of the world have their charm and comfort, it just takes far longer to find it. Aside from this run I’m still figuring out what type of setting I’d like to end up in.  Certainly somewhere where I’m free to run along beautiful landscapes.

In any case, as I begin the second half of the journey, I can look forward to my favorite thing- GREENAGE! Green fields, trees, hills, parks. In the last few days, spring has bloomed in the Dallas Fort Worth metroplex, and I realized with a delight that for the next two months I will really truly experience each and every stage of spring, day in and day out. I’ll run alongside flowers blooming, trees budding, birds singing, and probably bugs stinging.

And all of that makes me quite happy.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

6 thoughts on “I’ve crossed half the country on my own two feet”

  1. Zoe–what an accomplishment. I am so happy for you and of course glas that your adventures have been safe and fun. Think of you every day. Every one at Mercy gets an update on a regular basis. Stay safe and know the love is flowing toward you.

  2. Hi Zoe,
    This was beautifully written….Congratulations on reaching your halfway point!
    I am really enjoying reading the adventures of Zoe…Enjoy each moment of everyday and stay safe. Happy Running!
    Anne

  3. Zoe, when I sit down at the computer I see a picture of you that we placed here when you left two weeks ago. When I look at it I say a prayer for you and your parents and then check your blog to read about your success. Your story and presence in our home has left so much joy and excitement with our family. I especially enjoyed your posts from today. Bedford is hoping that the sequel to this “Zoe Adventure” will be “Zoe goes flying…” but I think you could add “Zoe goes speaking…” to it. You have such an amazing story to tell and I believe that your inspiration will influence many children and adults. So Bedford and I tipped a glass tonight and will contiue to keep track of your steps to the finish line. May the grass, flowers and trees continue to blossom as you travel on! Michele

  4. HI Zoe, so glad you got to run through Denton. Congratulations on making it this far, and I am positive you will make through to your destination! This is exquisitely written, I am sure you will do great things in your life, keep going strong!!

  5. hi Zoë …..this is Gram dad just showed me THE INCREDIBLE PICTURES OF YOUR JOURNEY THEY BRING TEARS TO MY EYES HUGE JOY TO MY HEART AND GREAT PRIDE IN MY GRAND DAUGHTER ZOË….LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING AND READING MORE OF YOUR BLOG BIG LOVE AND HUGS GOD BLESS YOU GRAMMY XOXOXOXOX

  6. Henry’s Momma passed your blog along to me. I’m LOVING following you. At first I wondered what fool would RUN across the country…now I find myself envious of the fool. Run, Zoe, run. I’m cheering you on!

Leave a Reply

