Paris!

image

image

image

image

image

I had a few interesting things happen today.  The run itself was not really extraordinary, 31 sunny miles from Klondike to Paris, TX.  But along the run a couple cool things happened.

First, another newspaper called me and came out to meet me and do a little roadside interview/ photo shoot, so that was pretty cool.  Then my friend John Miers donated a night in a Hampton Inn (best pillows EVER) for tonight.  I gotta say the thought of crashing on a Hampton Inn bed carried me through the last 5 miles.  Muches gracias Juan!

When I hit that 5 mile mark, I was hurting and didn’t know where 5 miles of energy was going to come from.  All reserves seemed to be spent, but then the song “Hey Soul Sister” came through my headphones. I’m not going to lie, there is nothing so satisfying as running to this song and belting out the lyrics along with the band. I don’t care when it came out or how many times I’ve heard it…it is one of my favorite songs to listen to while I’m running. So I put it on repeat and listened to it 9 times in a row, singing along at the top of my lungs. I figured I was getting a pretty good lung workout, singing along, and I actually started feeling so lightheaded after a few times through that I felt like I was going to faint!

So I’m cruising along, with only about 1 1/2 left to go, dreaming of delicious dinners and plush pillows. And then I come around a curve on the hwy and there’s about a 40 ft stretch where two highways merge and there’s absolutely no shoulder and guardrails right up against either side of the road. And cars coming in at 65 mph from either side. That slowed me down real quick.  I couldn’t really see what choice I had except to wait for a break in the traffic and just book it down one side and hope to make it to the grass on the other side before getting run over.  So I stopped, drank some Gatorade, ate some jelly beans, and built up the courage to go for it.

A few minutes went by, I saw my chance and went for it. So scary. But I made it, just in time. I get my stroller back up on the grass, walk two feet, look up to my right and sitting there on the hill is a huge sign for the Boys & Girls Club of Paris. How perfect is that?

So aside from nearly fainting from singing so much, and sprinting to freedom in the middle of the highway, today’s run was fairly ordinary.

Now it’s time to enjoy these Hampton pillows!  :  )

PS: photos-  my hosts at John’s Creek Lodge in Klondike last night, a very picturesque country road, the Paris sign, the BGC sign, and the last picture- a truck delivering Cape Cod potato chips. I can’t say how giddy this sight made me…2 1/2 months on the road and that truck was like a little sign from my home, a sweet connection to my New England roots :  )

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 thoughts on “Paris!”

  1. Too bad it wasn’t a salt & viganer(rosa style) truck. I love the picture of the tree covered street. It reminds me a bit of the painting from Papa Mema’s house above the couch.
    Happy Running xoxoxxx.

  2. Well I have to say Sparky …if you call that rather an ordinary day …can you please describe a day that’s not ordinary !

    Again your writing delivers me into those head phones , allows me to feel the Texas sun on my face , and the Texan tar at my feet . We came around that bend together and side by side sprinted to the other side …exhausted , I made my way to the Hampton Inn ….and yes those pillows must have felt damn good .

    Sing On , Dad xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

