Run, food, laundry

image

image

image

Apologies for no post yesterday….I slept at a church and wasn’t getting any cell phone service…no texting in the house of the Lord!  Yesterday’s run was one of the best, 28 hot and humid miles into the town of DeKalb, TX, home of Danny Blocker, star of the NBC series “Bonanza”  I got a nice tour of the town museum by Carolyn from the Chamber of Commerce, and then she treated me to dinner, where I had my first taste of catfish! Thank you Carolyn :  )

This morning I started early and was pleasantly surprised to find that my body wasn’t too confused by the change in temperature- yesterday was 84 degrees, today was 44. Quite a difference!  The forecast called for pm showers and t-storms, and I had 34 miles ahead of me, so I wanted to get started as early as possible. I don’t want to jinx anything but I surprised even myself today in my energy and stamina.  I finished the 34 miles in 6 1/2 hours, and only stopped once or twice for a quick snack and to use the restroom.  The rain held off until 20 minutes ago and I still haven’t heard any thunder.  Tomorrow is a rest day so I’m hoping all the rain and clouds finish their business tomorrow and the sunshine comes back on Tuesday :  )

Speaking of Tuesday, I will be crossing into Arkansas in just a few miles! I can’t believe it. This whole time I’ve been running and before, during the planning time, I really imagined the finishing of Texas to be a big milestone because the state is so large and it really marks the end of the big western states.  I’ll nearly be in my final straightaway! Not really, but to some degree it feels that way.  The rest of the states are so small, I only have 7 stops in Arkansas. 

Anyway, I will leave my Texas reflections for when I’ve actually crossed over the state line.  For now I just want to make a note about my dinner tonight.  This is mostly to make my parents feel good so feel free to skip over it ;  )

When I arrived at the hotel that is hosting me tonight, I felt nearly delirious with hunger. Clif Shot Bloks will only take you so far in a 34 mile expedition.  I get up to my room and try to pull my brain together enough to at least figure out where and how I’ll eat.  Looking out my window I am beckoned by sign after sign advertising food, food, and more food.  I am happy; food seems near.  And then I realize the biggest disappointment of the night-  there is an interstate between my hotel and all the restaurants. Involving an extra 4 miles of walking. Maybe on another day, but not my 8th day straight of 30+ mile runs. Wanting to be lazy, I consider delivery. But somehow I talk myself out of that and venture up my side of the highway to find a grocery store. Long story short, I made myself a delicious gourmet meal of hot lentil soup and an entire baguette-length sandwich with fresh tomato, avocado, and melted pepperjack cheese.  I was quite impressed with myself but unfortunately too hungry to pause and take a picture before I devoured it.

I also did my laundry in the hotel sink. So: 34 mile run, healthy meal prepared from scratch, and sweaty clothes freshly laundered. I’ll rate this a successful day :  )

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

5 thoughts on “Run, food, laundry”

  1. Hold on there Big Mama !! I’m proud of “alla my guys and gals ” and furthermore …there is only one real # 1 Fan and I’m happy to say that’s dear old ( young ) Dad !

    Now as far as that Catfish goes …there is not a more delicious fish on earth than a catfish cooked on an open fire right next to the lake where it was caught ! Thank you Carolyn for treating Zoë to such a fantasticly tasty dinner …

    I am reminded of a song : Betcha goin fishin all a the time , baby goin fishin too . Caught a seven pound catfish on the bottom , yes I caught him took him home to Mama for suppertime…cooked him up til he was real fine ….I’m a goin fishin , yes I’m goin fishin , baby goin fishin too !!

    Fish On , Dad xoxoxo Your #1 Fan

  2. I have thoroughly enjoyed sharing your trip vicariously. Thanks so much for the wonderful stories. By the way, you are going to miss the Ukrop’s 10 K which is Saturday, April 2nd. I know that you are not really going to miss it. Congratulations on the run so far and best wishes for the next segment. I am sure that you know that Richmond made it to the Sweet Sixteen and VCU is in the Final Four. Yes!

  3. Zoe
    If you don’t write a book about this umbelievablee adventure you are living you are nuts!!!! It must have been something else to run over the Mississippi River. YOU GO GIRL!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

