3 miles from Arkansas

Today was a rest day, so there isn’t much to share except to say that I’m feeling, I don’t know, quite contemplative today. I always get a bit withdrawn and off-balance on days when I don’t run, but today I kept recalling moments and feelings from the early days of this run and even after writing in my journal all evening I’m having a hard time nailing down what it is I’m feeling. Am I already nostalgic for the early memories of this journey? Amazed at how much I feel I’ve grown in such a short amount of time? Scared for what I can do next that will transport me to the same heaven I’m in while running all day?

Certainly it’s a mix of many things.  With any journey there are always different stages and levels of development.  I guess what’s unique about this is that I can have those reflections about the first stage of the run, and still be on the journey eastward, and still be having new experiences everyday.  At least I have lots of time out on the road to process all these thoughts and feelings!

Aside from thinking, I didn’t do much today. Fairfield Inn and Suites in Texarkana donated a room for me last night and tonight so this morning I woke up early to go enjoy the free breakfast, and then fell back asleep til 10:30. I had an interview with the Texarkana Gazette (should be out tomorrow afternoon), then took an afternoon nap. Journaled, made dinner, showered, and now I’m ready to sleep again. Quite the restful rest day :  )

Tomorrow: Arkansas!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

3 thoughts on “3 miles from Arkansas”

  1. Hey Cowgirl ! Ride those feet like a churnin bronco stirrin to get out of the corral …roll along like a rollin runaway tumbleweed and sing your way into awaiting Arkansas like ramblin Roy Rogers….

    Happy trails to you until we meet again ,
    Happy trails to you , keep smilin til the end ,
    Happy trails to you until we meet agian

    Gallop on , Dad xoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

