Tornadic Supercells

image

image

image

image

I’m sitting here with my lovely host for the evening, Meta Maria, going over the weather forecast for tomorrow.  We came across this particular prediction, and I feel compelled to share it because it is the most poetic weather forecast I’ve ever read:

“The area with the greatest enhanced severe weather threat on Friday, including tornadic supercells, is from the cities of Oenonta westward to the Mississippi state line. Areas east of there still have a severe weather threat, but confidence in tornadic supercells is low”

“Confidence in tornadic supercells is low”. What a sentence.  Anyway, that’s what’s preoccupying my mind tonight, if I can trust in the prediction for tornadic supercells tomorrow. Last time I took a rest day because of hail and tornado warnings, my runner friend Milton teased me, asking if I was made of sugar. Actually, I think I’m made of salt, but that’s another story. Point is, I don’t want to stay indoors if the severe weather’s not really gonna be that severe. Although last time I felt unsafe even indoors….so I’m not sure what the real point is. Other than that planning a 33 mile run around tornadoes is a tough business.

In fact, trying to figure out Plan A and Plan B for tomorrow has so consumed my brain for the last 10 minutes that I just wrote all that and forgot to mention the best news of the day: I crossed into Alabama today!!! Yeehaaaw Alabama baby :  ) And that I had an awesome running partner, Chris (see photo below) to accompany me out of town towards the state line. What a quick ride Mississippi was! But definitely full of wonderful people, alligator ravioli, and hills.

I’ve got a fantastic new addition for my buggy. Actually two new additions. One is a cartoonishly large can of pepper spray, gifted to me by the Chief of Police here in Reform. (Who by the way was a HUGE help today, checking on me and setting me up to stay with the Mayor and his wife tonight. Thank you Mr. Black!) And I think I’ll keep the other one a surprise until I test it out tomorrow. Let’s just say it will revolutionize the way I rest, drink, and protect myself from hail. $5 to anyone who guesses it correctly :  )

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 thoughts on “Tornadic Supercells”

  1. Not sure what to think of on the mysterious gift. But u know that I do not like bad clouds. So, I say take a day of rest!!! You are awesome!!! Be safe…keep an eye to the sky! Love ya!

  2. Already talked to you, emailed and now I am writing to you. How ’bout thaT?! love you and my brain is too fried to guess. xoxoxxx

  3. Wait a second, sade got to talk to you? I’m way jealous. Also to note that this is the first night that your post has been up before I fell asleep! Just goes to show you are getting closer to my time zone! And, for the record, I did google it (yeah, you know what I mean). Miss you stay safe!!
    Xoxox Em

  4. Hey sugar!… I mean… Zoë,
    It’s great you have a place to stay in. Unlike many other events, tornadoes are unpredictable enough on their schedules to make them a real danger.
    See ya on the other side.
    Milton

Leave a Reply

