Atlanta!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Yesterday I took the day off and there was no post because I was too busy sleeping. Seriously, I surprised even myself. I slept until 10:30, ate breakfast, went back to sleep til 2, went out for a short walk and decided it was too hot, and fell back asleep at 5 pm. I woke up at 930 with a splitting headache and sleep-walked out to the lobby to get some Advil. I had them in my hand and was all set to pay when I realized I had a whole bottle of Aspirin in my stroller. Duh. Took them and fell back asleep until my alarm went off this morning. That’s a lot of zzz’s!

Anyway, today was a great run, not too too hot, and there was a nice little rain shower in the afternoon. The shoulders were sparse, however, and I got stopped by the police twice because people had called in to report a crazy mamma out on the road. I think the first officer didn’t even believe me – she took my ID and ran my record while I waited patiently on the side of the road. And what’s funny is that I actually lost my ID on my 5th day on the road, back in California, and I had JUST printed out a temp license this past weekend.  I was convinced I could lead an undocumented existence…

In any case I made it 28 miles to Jonesboro, GA, where I was met by Lisa Myers, my host in Atlanta. I walked around her neighborhood in search of food, and it reminds me a lot of where I lived in Richmond. It was nice to feel that urban energy again, and while I was sitting at the bar waiting on my order, I couldn’t help but realize how much I’m looking forward to having fun with my friends and family again! It’s been a long trip, and I’m still conflicted between hermit tendencies, feeling totally at peace while alone in nature, and recognizing that life tastes much sweeter when shared. I guess it’s about balance…

Tomorrow I will spend the day with the Boys and Girls Club – I have a visit at the BGC of America offices tomorrow morning, then I am being treated to lunch :  )  After lunch we will head to a nearby club to meet with the kids and local media.  It’s a big day, so everyone send good thoughts please!

Last thought for the night: sitting at the bar tonight, I thought hey, I could go for a cold beer. I scanned the list and asked for a Stella. When the bartender started to ask for my ID, I realized sadly that my slip-of-paper temp license probably wasn’t going to cut it. I was right. But the bartender and I got to talking, and besides being an awesome girl (who I think will someday bike across the US), she also made a very important remark – “Make sure you get your parents to meet you at the finish line with your passport…it would be horrible if you couldn’t celebrate with an ice cold beer then!”  Point well taken. Mom and Dad, are you reading?

Photos: 10 bottles, all in a day’s work. “Five Guys”: Running back east, one chain-restaurant at a time. End photos: Historic Jonesboro.

By Zoë

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

3 comments

  1. Hi Z!

    Great blog! You sleep as much as you need to – you’ve earned every z you can get.

    I like your bit about the conflict of solitude vs. company. Both are great. Like most things – it’s all about balance.

    Hope you had a great day on the road.

    Big love – UM

  2. Wow, Zoe! Atlanta – almost home. What an experience you’ve shared with us. I can’t tell you how much I enjoy reading your blog – my favorite was Musical Lives. And your pictures are … well … worth a thousand words.

    Hope you have a glorious running day today.

    Mucho love,
    xoxo
    Aunt Anne

  3. Just wanted you to know I can’t wait to see you. Love the picture of all your bottles hahaha…did you take the photo of church street because I lived near church street in burlington? or is that egocentric haha

Leave a comment