Visit with the Boys & Girls Club of America

Today went really well! I had an absolutely wonderful day, getting to meet the people behind the Boys & Girls Club of America at the offices right here in Atlanta, and share my story with them.  Everyone was incredibly supportive and it was just a really great experience for me to get to meet the faces of an organization that I truly admire.  I was also treated to lunch AND got to pick the place! Five words- All-you-can-eat sushi. Mmh mmh mmh. After lunch I got to visit the Warren-Holyfield Club in East Atlanta and talk to the kids there. They asked some really great questions today! Channel 11 was also there, and the story should air tomorrow night.

Besides having a very inspiring day in general, I also walked away with host arrangements for tomorrow night and a goody bag full of BGCA apparel- t shirts, waterbottle, visor, watch, and several other treats to help me reach the finish line. My favorite is a BGCA pen – I am sure it seems an odd choice but I always love a good pen for writing in my journal and I will certainly use it to record my thoughts during this last leg…and hopefully that will soon become the ending chapters of my book!

Tomorrow I am back on the road with a medium-sized run to Conyers or Porterdale. A huge, huge thank you to Brian Hill and Evan McElroy from the BGCA for a wonderful day and all the extended help with hosts and club visits. I truly appreciate it.

One last thought – my host also has another house guest and her two children – the little boy loves camping so we set up my tent and air mattress for him in the bedroom ~ check out the photo, so cute. And today there was a record number 600 visitors to the blog! Woohoo!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

1 thought on “Visit with the Boys & Girls Club of America”

  1. Bravo Sparky ! Many thanks to Brian and Evan from me too !!

    And to all the wonderful people who work hard everyday throughout the Boys and Girls Club Organization to see that the needs of so many children across the Country are met and that their days at the Clubs are fun , enriching , safe and secure …I say : THANK YOU AND KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK !

    Zoë I send my love and good vibe for the closing days of your run , you have given me every reason to continue being the proudest Dad of 4
    alive !

    Run on , Run Happy and see you in Charleston Baby ! Big Daddy the biggest Jog Blogger of them all ! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

