Bad weather is tough

All day I was thinking of a really great blog post to write tonight. About the complete change in the feel of a run when you know you have a time you have to finish by. Today I was running against the weather which it turns out, for me, can be mentally exhausting.

You start the day optimistically, the wind picks up, you stop taking rests, you push and push, becoming acutely aware of the time, the wind suddenly dies completely, (an even worse feeling), you talk yourself out of stopping to get a Gatorade or water, the sky gets black, your legs cramp from dehydration, you miss a turn because even 30 seconds to look at the map seems like too long a pause. You finish like a madman, running the last 6 miles as fast as you can, wondering where all that energy came from.  And when you finish you simply feel depleted; your mind and body utterly spent.

I don’t want to over dramatize storms but I try not to fool around with tornadoes and when you’re outside all day you start to recognize exactly how much time you’ve got until the storm arrives. I just heard from friends I met along this trip whose homes have been destroyed from the tornadoes moving through today – my heart goes out to you. Hannah and her family in Birmingham and Tuscaloosa, Myra in Franklin, Lynwood and Gina in Ashland, the Criswell’s in Reform, Ricky and commune in Starkville, I hope you are all safe and sound. Sending you all my best thoughts.

I’d like to write more but I will catch up with all the other info tomorrow. I’m exhausted. Thank you to Channel 11 for talking with me today and all your enthusiasm :  )  to everyone in Atlanta, the story will actually air early next week, probably on Monday. I’ll keep ya posted!

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

4 thoughts on “Bad weather is tough”

  1. I was shocked when I looked at weather.com tonight and of course you and everyone who has adopted you were the first things to cross my mind. Please be safe. I love you and can’t wait to see you. I am sending all kinds of love, good vibes, happy thoughts, prayers and sunny weather to everyone in your neck of the woods. xoxooxoxoxoxooxoxoxooxxx

  2. All the unsettled weather has me a little unsettled myself. Please be safe, although I know you cannot stop mother nature…I am sending peaceful thoughts today, and prayers to all the families you have met along the way. It sure has been one crazy journey (especially with this weather) and I’ve got to say, I haven’t been more anxious for you to cross that finish line. Oh yea, one more thing…I ate two pickles yesterday and thought of you…they weren’t classic villasic, but close enough!! Isn’t it funny the things that remind us of our loved ones?

  3. Hi Zoe! It’s Myra. I had you on my mind and in my prayers yesterday. I prayed for a safe journey and a safe haven from the storm. My little town was passed by. Everything looks just like it did when you left. Be safe and be careful. Love you girl. xoxoxoxo

  4. Zoe, it was so great to have you stay with us last night. I was so relieved you made it to our house before those terrible storms came in. We enjoyed your company and your stories very much and are just in awe of your determination and courage. We’ll be sending lots of thoughts and prayers your way as you finish the last parts of your journey. Can’t wait to read your book!

Leave a Reply

