The town that Sherman refused to burn

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

How does it get so late so early?! 10:30 seems to come around sooner and sooner everyday…must be because it’s light until 830 and it throws me off. Today was a fantastic run!!  35 miles, beautiful weather, not too too hilly, and just a gorgeous part of the country to be running through. I am really loving Georgia’s small towns…bit by bit they remind me more and more of Charleston and pull me ever closer to my finish. 

Today I ran through Covington, GA, and I had pretty much decided it was my favorite small town this side of the Mississippi, but then I arrived in Madison this evening, and what a beautiful town it is!! I just gave up and walked the last 2 miles because I was snapping photos every five feet. The last mile took me along a civil war trail, and I was wondering a bit how all these houses had survived the Civil War and Sherman’s March, and remained so intact, and then I read that Madison was the town that “Sherman refused to burn”… I don’t blame him. The houses are beautiful, the train still runs through here, the main square is lined with restaurants, outdoor cafes, bookstores and ice cream parlors. So picturesque and still booming. I am staying at Brady Inn, a wonderful B&B just 2 blocks off the square. A huge thank you to Karen for putting me up for the night :  )

I am also thanking my lucky stars because last night Madison got hit by one of the tornadoes….thank goodness I wasn’t a day ahead of schedule or anything. It looks like the town has done a good job getting everything back in order again, and I pray that nobody got hurt.

Tomorrow I am on to Thomson, and the alarm also comes earlier and earlier every day, so that’s all for tonight. Thank you again to Irma and Alonso for hosting me last night :  )

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

7 thoughts on “The town that Sherman refused to burn”

  1. Hallo Zoe,

    I wish you a lot of power for your run to your destination. I have heared from you over Alexander. He works with me at an office of the County Government in Saalfeld. My thoughts go with you at your way. Very much good luck and a guardian angel at all your ways.

    With hearty Greetings from thuringia

    Susanne

  2. Somewhere , sometime today Zoë , like every day along your unforgettable journey , an angel will find a way into your running shoes , into your legs and into your spirit …guiding you along your happy way and helping deliver you to your awaiting family .

    From Coast to Coast and from around the world , our thoughts and prayers continue and we send you good running vibes , sweet thoughts and all of our love !!

    Dad , xoxoxox

  3. this is great for wat u are doing i love that you are doing this and your pix are great i wish i was into your foot steps and i am at a boys and girls club i will always rember this love alyssa

Leave a Reply

