Last night in Georgia

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I am just too tired to write a good post tonight! And so many emotions running around! Lots of thoughts and experiences to reflect back on during this last week…it will take a bit to process them all.  Just wanted to post so everyone knows I am safe and sound with a full belly and a smile on my face after spending the night listening to Ellie, Jack, and Maddie’s stories – the hilarious and energetic children of my host family. Hey Mom – they eat Annie’s too!! 

Thank you to Charlie and Jennifer for hosting me last night and to the Kyzer family for having me tonight! I am too lucky :  )

Other than that, had a great run, 33 miles, with Charlie and Jennifer routing me on half the way :  )  tomorrow I will reach South Carolina…happy sad face.

Author: zoegoesrunning

Hello! I'm a runner, a writer, and have run across the United States and the Tour de France course. Most recently, I'm blogging about my adventures in an MFA program that will bring me to Chile, Argentina, and Brazil, and my teaching plans for Argentina.

12 thoughts on “Last night in Georgia”

  1. Happy …sad too Zoë …with a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes .

    And like you too , so many emotions …

    Today I will spend in reflection and contemplation . Thank you for the courage to undertake this journey and thank you for letting us run with you , the blog post has been a daily pleasure . I will sorely miss getting up every morning and checking in to read your daily entries .

    A dream fulfilled , you have both touched the hearts and been touched by the hearts of so many …

    Today run to South Carolina and just before you cross the State line , stop and look back from where you came . Take a moment to reflect on your amazing journey and to remember all the Good Folks along the way …… behind you over 2500 miles of smiling faces , months of prayerful nights and a passage blessed by the love , kindness and caring of so many .

    To all of you from California to South Carolina , Jina and I are overwhelmed by your thoughtfulness .

    To you Zoë …run on , run happy , run free and thank you for the perfect gift of you !

    See you in Charleston Baby !! Big Daddy the teary eyed Jog Blog Dog ! xoxoxo

  2. Hey Zoe!
    Have a wonderful run through So. Carolina. Wow, the last state! Zoe, this nearly completed endeavor is just amazing. You are amazing. I have loved these blogs, have felt like I’ve been out there with you on the road, and have gotten to relive a bit of my distance running. You capture and write the essence of it very well.
    Big love, Z, UM

  3. Today I came to the sad realization that I (barring a miracle) will be unable to watch you cross the finish line. It brings tears to my eyes, but for me, seeing you pull into our driveway, safe, healthy, and in one piece will be the ultimate finish line. I have had a gigantic lump in my throat for nearly two weeks now, and I want you to know that this is not how I pictured your finish. But then I realize, well this isn’t my endeavor, this is Zoe’s journey, and may that finish line be YOUR MOMENT. I look forward to our moment, back in Maine together, when we can sit down, catch up, and thank god that you are back safely. You move me beyond words kiddo, and I hope you understand that my physical presence is not needed next weekend, because you are in my heart and my mind EVERY DAY. I feel as if I am there with you, even when you are miles away. For you and I, this is nothing new. We went through college apart, and I am just thankful for the journey we had through the California and Arizona desert. I will never, ever, forget those days together, as long as I live. So here I am, again sentimental at work, excited, anxious, thrilled, sad, happy, frustrated, and overcome with every emotion, thinking about the magnitude of your run, and the bittersweet taste of knowing you will finish in less than a week…Keep up the hard push, and enjoy every single second of it. May mother nature be kind and gentle to you in the next few days, and go kick some S.C. butt!!

  4. hey
    just wanted to let you know that even though i have been sucking a little bit on the commenting part of the blogging, i am still doing a great job on the reading part of it. have a happy run, can’t wait to see you!!! skeeeeyouuuu

  5. Hey Zoe…congratulations on the run…
    A thought from someone who’s been there (muscle-powered coast to coast) and has followed your posts the whole way:
    1. since you’re sad to be finishing and don’t know what to do next, why don’t you just turn left in Charleston and run back to Maine? The timing, weather-wise, couldn’t be better…and then you wouldn’t have to be at the end so soon…Just sayin’…
    2. If you do decide to finish in Charleston, I suggest you head for Folly Beach for your ceremonial Atlantic dunk…it’s a lot easier to get to from Charleston than Sullivan Island for you and your group of fellow runners since you don’t have to cross any big bridges…and it’s only two, rather than three, municipalities to deal with in terms of permits, police issues, etc.
    Anyway, enjoy the rest of the trip and the welcoming event!
    Best, Stephen

  6. i love this pic i love nathcer and i love the fact that you are helping our culb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Thanks for raising money for boys and girls club in fact im in boys and girls club also how much money have you earned

Leave a Reply

